Portuguese Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I would given this 5 stars, but while I'm making this, it dawned on me that you did not have macaroni pasta in this recipe. Also, I made sure there was enough water to cover my ham hocks/sausages (I also used two packages of portuguese sausage (not linguica, it falls apart to easily) as the sausage is the flavoring for the soup. I like that you added stewed tomatoes, gotta have that!! As for the macaroni, that should not be optional, the cabbage actually could be optional. And remember, cabbage soaks up your liquid, so you may have to add more water during the simmering processes. I drained my kidney beans, to take out some of the sodium, but thats not necessary. All in all, this is a great hearty soup, with or w/o cabbage; with or w/o macaroni pasta. (if your gonna add the pasta, for this recipe, a couple of handfuls is all you'll need. if u add the whole bag, or 1-lb, it will soak up all your liquid and you definitely do not want that to happen). Thanks for this recipe! YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V.Naehu808

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I've been away from home (Hawaii) many, many years. I was so excited to see this recipe. Excellent and very much what I remember growing up. I can't eat pork, so I did replace ham hock with smoked turkey leg and linguica sausage with spicy chicken adouille sausaged. Even with these modifications, though, it was the broth that makes this whole dish. Thank you so much for sharing and bringing me back to sweet home memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
was reading another review here...traditional Portuguese soup....from when i grew up in Hawaii and which my grandmother is absolutely famous for....NEVER had pasta of any kind in it. this is her recipe to a T. it is perfect. noodles would totally kill it for me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Thanks Pikala, Quick and easy. In the winter I can go right down the street here in Fatima, Portugal and order this off the menu at most restaurants. When I make this at home I use less water because we enjoy it more like a stew. The only the sausage changes as you move around Portugal. We would add nothing to your Grandmothers traditional Portuguese recipe she got it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Good recipe, but it needed salt and pepper. I added soup base for extra richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Van Kirk Moran

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This will be my go-to soup forever - loved this when visiting Provincetown - this was the closest for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Loved this recipe!! I just threw it all in a regular pot with water and at first it was a little too clear so I guess I put way too much water. To fix, I just added 1 can of tomato paste and that made it perfect. I don't know why some people felt the need to add salt - the sausage was plenty salty and spicy even though I used mild Portuguese sausage. I used a small bowl to taste the soup but just kept re-filling it! Great recipe - Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This soup was well worth it! My husband asked when we were going to have it again. I followed the recipe, but pulsed the tomatoes in my food processor before adding them to the soup. My husband will pick them out if they are too chunky. To save prep time I chopped the onion and garlic in my food processor and sliced the carrots, celery and cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallon, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This was a good recipe, I used Portuguese sausage, and smoked sausage and 3 ham hocks, instead of 1. I also added a handful of macaroni noodles. It was pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This recipe is excellent. I didn't have a ham hock and made it with just linguica. Next time I will plan a little better. My husband wanted me to leave the potatoes out so I did. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States