Portuguese Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Great flavor, but WAY too much heat! I used less than a tablespoon of cayenne, and we still had to tame it down with some sour cream. I'll happily make this again, but...live and learn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I think 1 1/2 Tbsp cayenne pepper must have been a mistake in the original recipe. I recommend possibly 2 tsp. I also added more kidney beans and kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Delicious!! I was very pleasantly surprised- I wasn't expecting such full on flavour, at least more than just spicy, but it was very flavourful. The spice was not overpowering. I did change the recipe slightly to fit what I had on hand- I did not add celery, and the spice I used was a paprika/cayenne mix. I also added crushed chilies. I cooked the chorizo on a grill pan which added a nice 'grilled' smokey flavour. Was not an expensive meal either, and easy to make, so this will become part of my normal rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
My entire family loved this! This is going on my winter rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This is such a tasty soup! My kids and I absolutely loved it, however, I ommitted the celery but it still came out great, tastes like chilli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This is a great soup. I also added 4-5 cloves of garlic, 2 large red chillis, and coriander stirred in close to the end (and to garnish). Served with crusty french bread! Went down a treat with all my friends :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I used this as a starting off point for what I had on hand, and it was excellent. Didn't have carrots or tomato paste. used only 1 stalk celery. Substituted the tomatoes for a can of tomatoes, white cannelini beans instead of kidney and also threw in box of frozen spinach the last few minutes. served with crusty bread. Tasted good right away, but was even better later. Hubby liked also since it was full of flavor and very filling. great recipe to adjust. I think it would be good with spicy italian sausage also. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This soup is SO good! I also added 2 cups of cooked ditalini pasta. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States