Portofino Lamb and Artichoke Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
REALLY TASTY....WILL BE A REGULAR RECIPE AT OUR HOUSE!!!! WE ALL LOVED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
I had leftovers from jmass' leg of lamb and all the other stuff in the pantry so I gave it a try. Never would have imagined lamb, risotto and artichokes in the same dish would work so well. I thought the vinegar from the 'chokes would clash, but they melted in your mouth. It's like porridge, except not at all slimy. You can mix the rice and all the liquid in either a rice cooker or pressure cooker and do this without stirring and fussing. Just warm the other ingredients a bit by stirring into the rice the last few minutes, and covering pot. I have also tried adding green peas, asparagus, or olives to the the mix. I have used this recipe as a base with different wines, as with other leftover meat or raw defrosted seafood as well and it works. Whatever you alter, do not skimp on the best olive oil, butter, wine, shallots, and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
This was great! I used more lamb than the recipe called for and slightly less rice, but it came out great. My family really liked it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
My husband, who does NOT cook, made this for me all by himself on Valentine's day... had I not been home to watch him cook, I would ahve thought he had the meal catered! The risotto was AMAZING... all the flavours intertwined well with one another, and, according to my husband, was simple to make! He didn't have any leftover lamb on hand, so he roasted a few chops we happened to have on hand, then deboned it. Loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
This was OK but quite bland so I added some hot english mustard to the pot and that gave it a bit of a kick. Any leftovers that you can serve to unexpected guests without being embarrassed and can be put together with cans in the pantry gets my vote.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
I gave this a four star rating because although the taste was a 5 all around the presentation leaves something to be desired. The risotto turns purple when you add the wine, the artichokes of course are green, the lamb brown, not to appetizing to look at, but once I got past that and tasted it, it was so delicious that I just determined not to look down
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRIS4FOOD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BATCAVES
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This was excellent! I used leftover lamb from jmass's "Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary" from this site. I also took another user's advice and used white wine instead of red, for a more visually appealing meal. I added the garlic in with the onions in the beginning instead of waiting until the end. I will be making this again next time there is leftover lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
It's funny how much people change the recipes to suit their own personal tastes, but I guess that's what makes this website great is getting other's suggestions. I don't care for Lamb, so I simply made an artichoke risotto. I wanted to cut down on the fat, so I used frozen artichokes that I thawed and chopped. I also used white wine for aesthetics. This turned out delicious and made a wonderful side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by accidental cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by AMYK
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
My husband and I thought this was pretty good. The wine choice is important. We used a dry white wine as suggested. We didn't have any leftover lamb, so I grilled some lamb chops with a mustard-like barbeque sauce. I used artichokes packed in water and drained them before chopping and adding them to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
Very nice recipe. I added additional garlic in with the shallots and stirred in fresh parsley at the end. Used a full-bodied cabernet as well. Excellent combination of ingredients. Susan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Bacon Risotto

Bacon’s the star of the show in this simple risotto recipe.

Lamb Chops with Balsamic Reduction

Tasty lamb chops are cooked on the stovetop with a tasty balsamic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States