Portofino Lamb and Artichoke Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cathy Myers
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
For the Johnsonsville campaign, I changed out the lamb for their hot Italian sausage. Very nice as a substitute. Alos, when I reached for the Arborio rice, I had none, so I used Japanese sweet/ sticky rice. It was fine as a substitute, but will stick with the real deal next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
In the picture it looks like a very unappetizing dish, but I had a lot of leftover lamb and the reviews were great. It was wonderful! My guests couldn't stop raving over it. And it did look just like the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by greg
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Used regular white rice, beef stock, fresh lamb chops and added carrots. Soooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Excellent recipe for using up leftover lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I just finished serving this dish and was very pleased with the results. I did add a bit of salt. The reason I rated it a 4 is for the presentation. This is great for the family but I don't think I would serve it to guests. Everything seems to be the same color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This was the most tasteless, unappetizing dish ever. There is no seasoning whatsoever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Great way to use leftover leg of lamb. My only change was to substitute frozen artichokes for the marinated. Wonderful combination of flavors--lamb, wine, cheese, 'chokes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cazuela

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This was a great recipe for leftover lamb roast! Im not sure why people had so many issues with presentation. I think they used too much red wine. I used 1/3 cup Merlot and it definitely wasnt purple as described. My big chain grocery store did not carry Arborio rice or any short grain for that matter. So ended up using medium grain. There is only 2 of us so used 1 cup rice and 3 cups broth. I used hot marinated artichokes for extra flavor and it came out great. I was worried about under cooking the rice but turned out slightly overcooked by the end. For the med grain next time I would use maybe 2 3/4 cups broth instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Looking for something to do with leftover lamb. I found this recipe and being a risotto fan, I had to try. Followed the recipe as written. I thought the red wine gave it so much flavour and went well with the lamb. Delicious!! (even if it is a little high in calories)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I saw this recipe and knew I wanted to make it. When I went to the cabinet I had everything but the Arborio Rice. So I substituted Qunioa (red). I thought since someone said the red color from the wine was not appealing the red Qunioa would be normal. I can't wait to make this with the Arborio Rice because it was to die for with the Qunioa! Loved the red wine, I don't think I would want to use white wine as some suggested. Great flavor. My husband loved it and even took the left overs to work today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Lamb Chops with Balsamic Reduction

Tasty lamb chops are cooked on the stovetop with a tasty balsamic sauce.

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States