Portofino Lamb and Artichoke Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Made without the cheese and it was STILL spectacular. We used Fleur de Sel instead (a really expensive salt) cause we're on a special diet now with no dairy allowed. This is great, I can't wait to try it with cheese! SECOND REVIEW: Okay so I made it again, 1c of red instead of 1/2 cup, needed to add more liquid than called for, and FINALLY got to add cheese :O) STILL spectcaular, we have fantastic left over lamb (pasture raised organic leg of lamb, OMG amazing). Honestly the cheese was great but we could have left it out. Also used both times leeks instead of shallots. Used red wine, not white, and don't care about the color as soon as it hits your tongue :O) Pairs wonderfully with a Blanc de Noir sparkling wine. TRY THIS RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Incredible recipe, the only problem I had was that the wine turned the rice pink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
We use this recipe for leftover lamb, and it is outstanding. Had to cook longer than indicated, but well worth the stirring! I also used Parmesan Reggiano and it was heavenly. And the risotto isn't all that pink....delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
We really enjoyed this dish. I was hesitant about adding the juice from the artichoke jar, but it was fine. A great way to use lamb leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Using two cups of leftover leg of lamb, I followed this recipe but probably got 8 to 10 helpings. I switched pans once and it still nearly overflowed the larger 3 quart pan. Like others we used white wine. I will half the Risotto the next time I make it, to give more onion, meat & artichoke flavor. Also added some Allspice seasoning which is good with lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
This was great! I used more lamb than the recipe called for and slightly less rice, but it came out great. My family really liked it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
I had leftovers from jmass' leg of lamb and all the other stuff in the pantry so I gave it a try. Never would have imagined lamb, risotto and artichokes in the same dish would work so well. I thought the vinegar from the 'chokes would clash, but they melted in your mouth. It's like porridge, except not at all slimy. You can mix the rice and all the liquid in either a rice cooker or pressure cooker and do this without stirring and fussing. Just warm the other ingredients a bit by stirring into the rice the last few minutes, and covering pot. I have also tried adding green peas, asparagus, or olives to the the mix. I have used this recipe as a base with different wines, as with other leftover meat or raw defrosted seafood as well and it works. Whatever you alter, do not skimp on the best olive oil, butter, wine, shallots, and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
My husband, who does NOT cook, made this for me all by himself on Valentine's day... had I not been home to watch him cook, I would ahve thought he had the meal catered! The risotto was AMAZING... all the flavours intertwined well with one another, and, according to my husband, was simple to make! He didn't have any leftover lamb on hand, so he roasted a few chops we happened to have on hand, then deboned it. Loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
It's funny how much people change the recipes to suit their own personal tastes, but I guess that's what makes this website great is getting other's suggestions. I don't care for Lamb, so I simply made an artichoke risotto. I wanted to cut down on the fat, so I used frozen artichokes that I thawed and chopped. I also used white wine for aesthetics. This turned out delicious and made a wonderful side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by accidental cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by BATCAVES
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This was excellent! I used leftover lamb from jmass's "Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary" from this site. I also took another user's advice and used white wine instead of red, for a more visually appealing meal. I added the garlic in with the onions in the beginning instead of waiting until the end. I will be making this again next time there is leftover lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Lamb Chops with Balsamic Reduction

Tasty lamb chops are cooked on the stovetop with a tasty balsamic sauce.

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States