Portofino Lamb and Artichoke Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Wow! This was my first attempt of risotto and it came out absolutely delish! Even the kids liked it! The artichokes really make the meal. Did use white wine instead of red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
We really enjoyed this dish. I was hesitant about adding the juice from the artichoke jar, but it was fine. A great way to use lamb leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I loved this recipe. I made it with leftover leg of lamb. I did not have Arbiaro rice, but I used regular rice. It didn't turn out as creamy as regular risotto, but it was still delicious and a definate comfort food. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Using two cups of leftover leg of lamb, I followed this recipe but probably got 8 to 10 helpings. I switched pans once and it still nearly overflowed the larger 3 quart pan. Like others we used white wine. I will half the Risotto the next time I make it, to give more onion, meat & artichoke flavor. Also added some Allspice seasoning which is good with lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
We use this recipe for leftover lamb, and it is outstanding. Had to cook longer than indicated, but well worth the stirring! I also used Parmesan Reggiano and it was heavenly. And the risotto isn't all that pink....delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Made without the cheese and it was STILL spectacular. We used Fleur de Sel instead (a really expensive salt) cause we're on a special diet now with no dairy allowed. This is great, I can't wait to try it with cheese! SECOND REVIEW: Okay so I made it again, 1c of red instead of 1/2 cup, needed to add more liquid than called for, and FINALLY got to add cheese :O) STILL spectcaular, we have fantastic left over lamb (pasture raised organic leg of lamb, OMG amazing). Honestly the cheese was great but we could have left it out. Also used both times leeks instead of shallots. Used red wine, not white, and don't care about the color as soon as it hits your tongue :O) Pairs wonderfully with a Blanc de Noir sparkling wine. TRY THIS RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I left out the artichoke hearts (mostly because my kids saw me cutting them up and started whining) and served it with "Lamb Chops with Balsalmic Reduction" from this site and steamed green beans. It was very pretty, and the balsalmic reduction perfectly suited the risotto as a contrast. Next time I'll do it in a non-stick pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wylie, Texas, USA
Living In: Washington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Incredible recipe, the only problem I had was that the wine turned the rice pink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
Very nice recipe. I added additional garlic in with the shallots and stirred in fresh parsley at the end. Used a full-bodied cabernet as well. Excellent combination of ingredients. Susan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AMYK
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
My husband and I thought this was pretty good. The wine choice is important. We used a dry white wine as suggested. We didn't have any leftover lamb, so I grilled some lamb chops with a mustard-like barbeque sauce. I used artichokes packed in water and drained them before chopping and adding them to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Bacon Risotto

Bacon’s the star of the show in this simple risotto recipe.

Lamb Chops with Balsamic Reduction

Tasty lamb chops are cooked on the stovetop with a tasty balsamic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States