Portobello Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This was great. Next time will add some onion and use basil mayo instead of capers, but it was really good as it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADE1977

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I was expecting a 3-4 star recipe review based upon previous reviews BUT, if you take the mushroom and pour the pepper, thyme, balamic vinegar, oil, etc. on the gills and marinate overnight, you will definitely have a 5 star recipe that doesn't need a bun or mayo to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Delicious and really easy!! I just prepared the portabellos in my toaster's broiler. I used 2/3 the amount of oil suggested (2 tbsp instead of 3 tbsp for 2 caps) and the mushrooms came out just fine. I liked the mayo + capers combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Haven't tried this yet but it sounds great. I think the following remoulade sauce would be awesome with it! I'm gonna try mine with the remoulade instead of the mayo/capers combo. I've had this remoulade on Salmon croquettes before and it's great!!!!!!! Remoulade Dressing: 1/3 cup plain yogurt 1 tsp capers 1 1/2 tbsp mayo 2 tsp parsley 2 tsp green onions 2 tsp Dijon mustard 1/4 tarragon 1/8 pepper Dash hot sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
HUGE HIT with the family....absolutely DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
All of us loved the first time I made it and have made it several times since then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Easy, healthy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Yummy!These were great.I could only find three medium size mushrooms ,but it woked ,just shortened broiling time.I poured some of sause on the underside of the cap and let it sit for about 5 min. then broiled as directed. I didn,t make the caper mayo ,because I don,t care for then that much. But I had left over marinate and brushed on bun and toasted. then add small amount of mayo to bread with tomato and cheese.W0W could have eaten all of then by myself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
FANTASTIC! I only had sliced mushrooms on hand so I put them in a shallow pan with all of the listed ingredients and broiled for a few minutes. (You could also saute the mushrooms and sauce in a skillet) I didn't want to use a bun so I took 2 slices of wheat bread and brushed both sides with olive oil and sprinkled with garlic powder. I put the slices on my griddle until brown on both sides. Spread the grilled bread with mayo, add the mushrooms, and a slice of provolone, and enjoy. It remined me of a panini and the juices did not soak through the bread. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
These were fantastic! A great use for some olive oil infused with thyme and rosemary that I brought back from Greece. The capers and mayo were a nice little trick- gotta remember that one for other sandwiches and toppings. I had this for dinner tonight and I'm already planning on having it again tomorrow! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States