Portobello Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I have made these multiple times, and love them everytime! I kept the recipipe the same except for the bread (I like whole grain rolls) and I double the mayo sauce. These are fabulous! I agree with another reviewer on one thing. Be careful with your stove, mine too caught on fire. I laughed when I read their review warning about this, and it happened to me. Please stay in the area when you make these just in case!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Very good. I added some feta cheese on top as well. The toasted bun with the mayo (I used low fat and still tasted great) was a nice touch but did get a little soggy halfway through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
these were pretty darn good...I ran into the "wet" problem too, but the taste was great. I think that can be remedied by grilling instead of broiling. I'll do that next time. I broiled marinated onion rings too and put them on top with the tomato and lettuce, plus the caper mayo and a hearty whole wheat bun...good stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerbecky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Very good! I marinated them in the frig for about an hour. I added onions cut into rings and marinated them as well. I put the onions in the oven sooner because they take longer. I also added a little bit of rosemary. My only complaint is they are quite greasy. Excellent flavor. I will make again with less oil. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jho2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
YUMMY, this deserves over 5 stars in my opinion! It is a simple recipe, but sooo delicious! I followed the recipe except I ommitted the capers out of personal preference and the lettuce because I didn't have any. I topped the caps with swiss cheese and roasted red peppers (jarred) in addition to the tomato and mayo, magnificent! I served them with baked sweet potato fries for a healthy version of a burger and fry meal. The other reviewers are right in that it takes a hearty bun to hold this juicy "burger"! I will be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
The flavor was good but the texture was poor. Ours turned out very wet and soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GailandDan
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This was great. Next time will add some onion and use basil mayo instead of capers, but it was really good as it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADE1977

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I was expecting a 3-4 star recipe review based upon previous reviews BUT, if you take the mushroom and pour the pepper, thyme, balamic vinegar, oil, etc. on the gills and marinate overnight, you will definitely have a 5 star recipe that doesn't need a bun or mayo to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Delicious and really easy!! I just prepared the portabellos in my toaster's broiler. I used 2/3 the amount of oil suggested (2 tbsp instead of 3 tbsp for 2 caps) and the mushrooms came out just fine. I liked the mayo + capers combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States