Portobello Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Awesome!! Personally, I added some grilled onion...and perhaps a bit more capers. Rinsed, salt cured capers are way better than brined! Sometimes, when I'm feeling it, I grill up some onion....brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MattyHam

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
My first time on this site. I was looking to eat less meat, and eat a little healthier. this was the first recipe that i came across, and it sounded good. I went out and bought all the ingredients, started cooking and hoped for the best. all i can say is WOW! This was sooooooo good! My brother loved it as well, and hes a huge food critic(in our family). Definitely need to make sure u have the right bun, and will make these again today, but will start playing with different ingredients. I LOVE this Sandwich! I am ok with eating these instead of beef burgers any day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I love these sandwiches! I grilled them on my George Foreman grill and served them on the Focaccia Bread recipe I got from this site. I can't wait to try them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
loved them...make sure the buns are really toasted because they will get soggy. I melted cheese on top of the mushroom seemed to help keep the juices from leaking on the bun..DELICOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This is an awesome recipe. Great alternative to burgers. I added sliced tomato and red onion. I also have made them grilled and broiled them. They turn out great either way. I agree with other reviewers to make sure to purchase fresh hamburger buns (makes all the difference in the overall taste of the sandwich).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Wow!!! This was really, really delicious...and I am NOT a mushroom lover! I let my mushrooms sit in the marinade for a couple of hours and then grilled them to avoid the smoke-in-the-house problem others had. I only had cheapy little hamburger buns in the house, so I was a little worried about the soggy problem others had, but I place my mushrooms with the gill side up on my buns and didn't have any soggy issue at all! Topped with provolone cheese, grilled onions, lettuce, tomato and the caper mayo and I was in heaven. Can't wait to make this for my husband, who really does not like mushrooms at all...I know he will shocked to taste how yummy these are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this recipe, thank you! I agree the focaccia bread (with garlic) is a MUST, plus the provalone cheese, and sliced red onions. I cooked everything on a large griddle so that made it easier, I added the mushrooms to the marinade and mixed it up so that it was very well coated. I also added fresh minced rosemary from my garden to the marinade. I did coat the red onions in the same marinade and broiled them with a dab of butter...and I also coated the bread with the marinade before toasting on the griddle. I didn't have any peppers on hand in the 3x in the last 3 weeks that I've made this, but sounds like another great addition to this already delicious meal. Last night I just placed everything on shreaded romaine lettuce because I try not to eat bread too often. Wow, what an infusion of flavors! Thanks again for such a great recipe and everyone's great comments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
My husband and I love mushrooms and this was by far the best burger we have ever had! And easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
It was okay, smoked up my whole house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I love this recipe, it's so quick and so good. It really is a lot better with stiffer type of bun or it gets soggy and messy quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States