Portobello Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I used this basic recipe but omitted the vinegar. It was delicious! I had a large cap so I should have broiled it 1 minute longer but I will know that for next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
These are fabulous! Great alternative to ground beef! We followed the recipe but added provolone cheese to our "burgers" and served them with spicy sweet potato fries! I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usnwife20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This is amazing! The balsamic vinegar mix compliments the portobello nicely and the caper mayonnaise gives it a savory bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
omitted capers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tashaboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Photo by Mama Mia's Cakes
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Even the "meat lovers" in my family loved these. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Mia's Cakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This was a delicious recipe! I did not add lettuce and tomato to the top of the portobello and I modified the mayonnaise mixture. I made a bruschetta mixture and added some chopped onion. I drained the olive oil and balsamic vinegar that I used in the bruschetta mixture and added this mixture to the mayo and capers. I used very little mayonnaise. I found this concoction really brought this recipe to the next level. I also used Kaiser rolls instead of hamburger rolls. This recipe far exceeded my expectations! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanguardista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queensbury, New York, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I'm a portabello mushroom sandwhich fanatic and I LOVED this recipe. My husband made it for me for our aniversary and it was amazing. He substituted olive oil with basil olive oil which was just what it needed. I also made a basil aoli as the spread and added some muenster cheese. Mmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Didn't have capers (don't like capers much anyway) and added avocado to the burgers and they were delicious! Use vegan mayo for a totally animal product-free burger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Yum. Nothing wrong with this recipe! One hint: My broiler has 2 settings, High & Low.... if yours does too then do these on Low.... I did the first side on Low with no problems ... I flipped and changed it to High and viola...BIG FIRE. I shut it off and restarted with Low ... no problem. Very delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
These were delicious. My only complaint is that they are slippery and tricky to keep in the bun. I did add grilled red peppers and onions, as well as provolone. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States