Portobello Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
We cooked over low heat on the grill...FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This was great....although I made a couple changes. I only had 3 caps, so I took an onion and cut it in 1/2 and broiled it as well with the extra sauce I had. I toasted bread with mozzerella cheese and garlic salt on it. I used one piece of the cheese toast bread on one side and one piece of plain toasted bread for the other side and spread miracle whip on it after toasting. I didn't have any capers and it was still great. I used the broiled onions to spread over the sandwich instead of lettuce and tomato. I thought the combination of grilled onions and melted cheese on toasted bread, made this perfect. Great recipe, thanks so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Try replacing the mayo with goat cheese - unbelievable! You can also add a sliced vidalia and a whole red pepper to broil with the portabello - make sure to peel your red pepper after. I use potato rolls. Very addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
These were very tasty sandwiches and easy to make! I watched them very closely while broiling to make sure they didn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Very tasty. I would let the mushrooms sit out a few minutes after cooking before putting them on the buns. It was a bit messy, but VERY tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
My husband and I are crazy about portobellos and make this recipe all of the time. It tastes great with aioli sauce and melted provolone cheese on top. Would eat it every other night if possible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOM2JONAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Desert, California, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I've made these with just the marinade, not in sandwich form with the capers and mayonnaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Springchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mason, Ohio, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
MMMM, these were very tasty and easy to make. I used whole wheat buns, but didn't change anything else. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
These sandwiches are delicious, but have plenty of napkins because these bad boys are JUICY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Martin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
These were good but I did change them so I don't know what the actual recipe tastes like exactly. I didn't have capers so I used garlic mayonnaise instead. I added a little chili pepper to the marinade and marinaded for two hours. I loved them, they were sooo yummy and my husband liked them too and he does not like mushrooms. I will definitely make these again, and would love to try them with the caper mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieLovinHippie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States