Portobello Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
This was very tasty however next time i make it i think i will serve the filling over rice insted of putting it in a pie filling....Thanks for the recipe John :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
I thought it was really great, very mushroom-y :) I made individual pot pies instead of large ones and everyone was pleased. Next time I'm going to try adding some meat (males in this family don't go much for veggie meals) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
Great recipe - My husband isn't big on mushrooms, but he likes this one. Next time, I'll make sure I use a 9" deep dish pie pan (or a 10" pan) and decrease the amount of water a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
Hey, it's me, the submitter... I have noticed that a couple of people are saying that the filling is too watery, that could be due to the wrong type of flour... Rice flour absorbs a lot more water than the same amount of AP flour, if you are going to use AP flour, use more flour than the recipe calls for...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
Very good. I found it to be a little watery, but it still came out fine. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
My husband and I really enjoyed this but I wish I would have read the reviews first so I knew about the flour thing. Even though it was watery it was still yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA
Living In: Albia, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
This is my husband's favorite recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Delicious! The only downside was my frozen pie crust, which tasted like a frozen pie crust. Everything else was wonderful. I used allpurpose flour so I cut down on the water - used about 2 cups, and then added flour until I got a gravy consistency. I was too cheap for the shiitakes, and instead used the portabello stems, which worked great. Took the leftovers into work and they disappeared in minutes! Thanks for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
My daughter (veget) really liked this & surprisingly, my hubby (meat/potato man) also liked it. Didn't change much from the original. Used 6 medium potatoes instead of small & added extra soy sauce. Am planning on adding sliced water chestnuts next time, for a little more texture. Definately planning on having it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This recipe was perfect veg. recipe. My boyfriend and I are not vegetarian though his mother and sister are and this was wonderful. Everyone raved about it. Though by following the recipe I made enough for 3 pies. So I ended up baking it in a casserole dish. I paired it with grilled asparagus tossed in olive oil, and lightly seasoned with salt, pepper, and garlic. Delecious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eddington, Maine, USA
Living In: Brighton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States