Portobello Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This Asian twist on a classic is brilliant! I made this for my husband and his mother. We all LOVED it! I didn't find shiitakes in my store, so I used baby bellas. I used AP flour and used 9 T (thank you other raters/reviewers). We like things a bit spicy, so I added a few squirts of Sirachi to give it a bit of heat. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Kids loved it! Leftovers were even better than first day. Used dried shitake mushrooms instead of fresh; saved mushroom water from cooking them for the liquid. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Really outstanding... I used vegetarian store-bought pie crusts... next time I will make my own crust >.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
If you're thinking of making this pie, you've come to the right place by reading reviews! I've made portobello and chicken versions of this pie now, and I relied heavily on some of the consistent reviews I read here. For example, I used all-purpose flour for the gravy and almost doubled the measurement, and used vegetable stock and wine in place of the water. I also made my own crust. I agree with other reviewers that this recipe makes about twice the amount of filling you need for a 9-inch pie. This recipe is a great start though, with a few modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen_spork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
LOVE IT! I'm a vegetarian and I love mushrooms so naturally this was awesome for me! But my husband is most a carnivore and he loved it too. RAVE REVIEWS all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starritha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I was having a vegetarian guest for Thanksgiving, so I decided to make this is a veggie entree. I didn't actually try any of it myself since I loathe mushrooms, but my vegetarian guest and the others who tried it absolutely LOVED it. It was relatively easy to make, and it was great to know that I had a solid main course for the vegetarians. I'm definitely going to hold on to this recipe! I stuck to the recipe and made no substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This can be a good vegan Thanksgiving main dish with some modifications. Most importantly, make sure the filling is liquid enough (about the consistency of gravy), as it doesn't taste good when it's too thick and some of the water will evaporate in the baking. However, if you're using all-purpose flour instead of rice flour, you can use 1 1/2 times as much. Also, it's a good idea to taste the filling while it's cooking and add extra soy sauce (up to 1 1/2 times as much total) if you find it's too bland. The carrots and celery should be added to the pot with the onions and mushrooms, so that they end up soft instead of crunchy. Finally, make sure the pie crusts you use are unsweetened (0g sugars in the Nutrition Facts) so they fit with the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goleta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
pretty good, I would make it again. I wasn't wowed by it, but it was still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelleywilsonaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Absolutely the best! I followed the directions given and it came out perfectly. My non-vegetarian friends loved this dish:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Really not good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States