Portobello Port Sauce for Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by c.crowley
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This was delicious! An awesome recipe for sure! If you have not tried it yet, you must!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
My wife suddenly likes steak!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I followed the directions of another reviewer and switched out the port with a 3-3-3 mix of red (Cahors in my case) soy and water. FAn-ta-bu-lous, loved by all. I'm confident it'll be good with port too, when I have some on hand. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I liked this..but the second time I made it I used Merlot instead of Port to cut the sweetness.... It was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauri Bland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This is a fabulous recipe! I did not have port wine so I substituted 1/3 cup red wine, 1/3 cup soy sauce and 1/3 cup water for the port wine. Besides that I followed the recipe as written. I served a grilled pork tenderloin and spoon the extra sauce over both the tenderloin and mushrooms. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Way too sweet. Covered up the steak completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Very Good! Used dehyrated portobello mushrooms (re-hydrated), substituted the sour cream for half & half cream and added shallots. Worth doubling the liquids next time to make it more saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klml

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
WOW! This sauce is great!! Restaurant quality and totally company-worthy. Being a mushroom lover, I used a whole 10 oz. package of mushrooms so the steaks were smothered with them. Delish--but next time I'll double the rest of the recipe to have a generous amount of sauce. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Per other reviewer suggestions, I used 1/3 cup port, 1/3 cup water, and 1 TBSP soy sauce. This sauce is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotherLodeViv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
This is an unbelievable sauce that adds the crowning touch to any steak. It is quick and easy to prepare, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Grilled Skirt Steak with Asian BBQ Sauce

See how easy it is to make your own Asian-inspired BBQ sauce.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States