Portobello Penne Pasta Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Very yummy. I was a little leery of the soy sauce, but it ended up being delicious! Not at all overpowering, but just another interesting dimension to the dish. The recipe doesn't state, but I did wring the excess water from the spinach. My sauce was still just the right consistency...I think it would have been too runny if I hadn't done that. I used part-skim mozzarella and 1% milk and it turned out fine. Only substitution I made was parsley for basil since I'm not a basil fan. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I made and served this casserole to for a pot luck and people raved about it. It was creamy and delicious! Because I have vegetarian friends, I used soy milk instead of milk, which made it extra rich and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChAnMad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jenks, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Moore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Excellent dish! My boyfriend said he could eat it every day and not get tired of it. I made a few minor changes - used some random pasta I had (not penne), replaced the soy sauce with some salt and added a extra cup of water to the sauce because it was too thick. It is very important to simmer the flour for a few minutes (stirring) before pouring the liquid in - that will give it more thickness. I'll certainly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Love this recipe!! I used Unflavored Soy Milk instead of milk and it was rich and yummy, but not overpowering. This recipe was unique but really a pleasant taste! Will def make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Very good. My husband and I both loved it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I definitely changed a couple of things, because I used what I had in the fridge! I cut back on the soy sauce, added more pasta & mushroom, added parm. cheese and used broccoli instead of spinach. This is a great hardy meal and the left overs are even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Very Tasty! My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
This is definitely a keeper - I'm not a huge mushroom fan and I loved it - although I used regular mushrooms instead of the portobello. I also cut the spinach and soy sauce in half. It was a delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
This was really good, especially the next day. I made it on Saturday night, we had some for supper and brought the other half to church potluck. I had several people ask me for the recipe. I did cut down on the soy sauce, used more pasta, and drained my thawed spinach. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
Loved it! I'm a BIG fan of portabello mushrooms, and this is a great recipe for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States