Portobello Penne Pasta Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I used slightly more pasta (10-12 ounces). Also I accidentally put more basil in when the cap came loose but I think the extra basil is good. The soy blended in with other ingredients, so I don't understand reviewers who say "all I can taste is soy- ewww!" They probably forgot an ingredient or measured wrong. I'm giving this 4 stars because my family rated it 4- I think it is a 3. Also I can't see how this serves 8 people; more like 5 or 6
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
i needed to do something with my mushrooms, spinach, lasagna noodles and this was perfect! I added in more stuff that was in my fridge: I added an egg to the flour-margarine mixture; I added mild cheddar and parmesan cheese to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gallagurl12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I would even try adding a can of diced tomatoes and some cooked, chopped chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was excellent! I made it exactly as written and I have to say it was wonderful. Will definitely be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Okay I made a few changes based on what I had but this was wonderful. I had pasta last night so I made this with saffron rice. Also I sauted a vadalia onion with the mushrooms. I used fresh spinach and cooked it with a couple of tablespoons of lemon juice and used one cup milk and a half of cup of heavy cream. This was DEVINE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillyann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I will definitely make again - maybe next week! I sauteed onion, then added the portobellos, but added a bit more time for browning. I cut margarine in half, and used more garlic. I only had non-fat milk and skim mozzarella, so used those. The resulting white sauce wasn't smooth and rich (obviously) so I tossed in ~ 1/2 c. of parmesan, kept stirring and it turned out great tasting and creamy. I used fresh spinach, stirred it into pasta and sauce, then added the rest of the ingredients along with sun-dried tomatoes. I forgot the soy sauce, so who knows how good it will be if I choose to make it correctly! Everyone at home said mmm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I did my best to make this lower in calories and use healthier ingredients. I used whole wheat penne rigate and 1 tablespoon each of butter and EVOO with 2 tablespoons flour instead of the 1/2 cup of butter/1/4 cup of flour to make the roux. I also used 1 can fat free evaporated milk and made up the rest up to two cups with nonfat milk. I sauteed the mushrooms and the added half large onion and 4 cloves garlic in another tablespoon each of butter and EVOO before adding the roux ingredients. It was plenty thick the way I made it, especially after adding the cheese. I used fresh spinach that I tossed with the pasta and sauce after I'd removed them from the heat and I only used 1 tablespoon of worchestershire sauce (I'm out of soy at the moment--there's actually a little soy in worchestershire sauce) just to cut down on the salt. I think I did pretty well with my healthier substitutions. The kids and husband thought it was pretty good. I think I might omit the worchestershire/soy sauce next time and go with another flavor. I think it needs something but the soy/worchestershire isn't it. Maybe more mushrooms? I served this with Chicken Breasts with Balsamic and Garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
wow!!! Love it and SUPER easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Loved it! I served it at a BBQ for 20 people and everyone - children included - raved about it and there wasn't a bit left. I made it as is. Those who feel it's runny probably aren't making the white sauce properly: remember slow, low temperature, stiring lots, have patience for it to really thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This is an excellent dish that my entire family LOVES. That includes a one and a three year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States