Portobello Penne Pasta Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This was the BOMB! My 7 year old ate this and also loved it. I used less Soy Sauce though. It just seemed too much and I'm not a big fan of it, but that's just my preference. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I made this as the Vegetarian option for Christmas dinner. It was very good, and I'll make it again with a few changes. The minor problem I had was that I made the sauce too thick. Once I added the cheese, it was so thick it was difficult to mix in the pasta, mushrooms and spinach. Next time I won't thicken the sauce for quite so long. I also had to bake it for at least 10 minutes longer to get it bubbly and brown--probably due to the thickness of the mixture. ALTERATIONS I MADE: I used 1/4 c. butter instead of 1/2 c. margarine and used reduced sodium soy sauce. I also sauteed the mushrooms longer and added a little of the garlic to the olive oil. CHANGES I'LL MAKE NEXT TIME: I'll increase the amount of mushrooms and reduce the penne to compensate. I'll also reduce the amount of cheese or use of mixture of cheeses instead of just mozzarella, which is a little bland. And I definitely won't thicken the sauce for quite so long. I may also throw in some sun dried tomatoes to add a little dimension to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This was so good and SO easy! I had to make a few alterations based on what I had on hand (don't we all?) and completely omitted the spinach (though next time I make it, I'll be sure to throw it in!). I also didn't have a lot of milk (only about half a cup left...ah, the life of a college student on a meager budget...) so I added a can of cream of chicken and mushroom soup that I had. I used an Italian cheese blend of parm, fontina, asiago, etc and doubled the garilc. Turned out fantastic! I'm definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Pretty good. I used fresh spinach like others and just stirred into hot hot sauce. I felt the sauce was a little on the bland side, so prior to baking I added a little garlic salt, pepper and some Parmesan. I had some as leftovers and felt it was even better the second time. Really like this and will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
My family loved this! I reduced the margarine by half (and used butter) and the sauce still came out beautifully. I might try a different mix of cheeses next time. I reduced the soy sauce too, since I was a little uncertain about that addition. My family thought it was great as it came out, though if I do the same next time I will add a dash of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Like some of the other reviewers I cut the butter in half for the sauce and that worked perfectly. I used half the amount of soy sauce in the recipe and still felt that the flavor was too strong. The next time I make it I may decrease the soy sauce to 1/2 - 1 tablespoon. I think this recipe may be in regular rotation in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Loved it! Added a lot more fresh basil so mine kinda had a pesto feel. Also used fresh spinach and some onion. Will make again and again! thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julecook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
It was delicious and easy. Pinned to my weekly rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This was really good. The only things I changed were butter instead of margarine because I didn't have it and a teaspoon of jarred minced garlic because I always have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
So good. But once you make it, you know how it gets to be that good. Maybe I'll try a lower-fat version next time. Made enough to feed three twice over. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paulettep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States