Portobello Penne Pasta Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly and it is fantastic. It's delicious and filling, and looks like something I would order at a restaurant. As a recent (and, I admit, wavering) convert to vegetarianism, I have to say this casserole made me forget about meat. My boyfriend loved it, and it reheated well. This will definitely make the rotation at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This was really tasty. We added sundried tomato thanks to another reviewer's tip and a little cognac to the sauce because we didn't have any cooking wine and I love the flavor w/ mushrooms. We also used whole wheat noodles and used unsweetened soy milk because it is my preference. Easy recipe that the whole family liked. Next time I will reduce the cheese or use part skim or even soy or vegan cheese. Seems like a solid recipe that can handle different adjustments. Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggiemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I loved this! I did triple the garlic and I used fresh spinach. I would add a few more mushrooms next time. Fantastic recipe that I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Used 1/2 the amt of butter and milk in recipe, three garlic cloves, no soy sauce (didn't have any), and mixed Italian cheese. Probably spice it up a bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Amazing in taste and ease of preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahJean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
My family really enjoyed this recipe. The only changes I made was adding more garlic, and pepper, next time I would double it so there will be enough for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Loved this dish!! My husband is not a leftover kind of guy, but he took this for lunch a couple days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Trapp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Very good. However, true confession, I'm not a huge spinach lover, so I would add half the amount the recipe calls for. Also, needs more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I loved it! Probably one of the best pasta's I've made. I followed the recipe with few small changes that I believe added that extra flavor. When mixing the margarine and flour in the pan - add a splash of "Masala" wine - it truly enhances the aroma and taste. Also, I used water instead of milk, and did not include spinach since I didn't have any. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Oh so good. I didn't have frozen spinach so used a 10 oz. bag of fresh spinach. Just sauteed the mushroom, onions, in the oil and then added in the spinach until wilted (yes I added onions)...drain off any juice. I used butter not margarine, added in some grated Parmesan cheese with the mozzarella (eyeballed and more than likely more than 2 cups). I accidentally forgot to put in the soy sauce, and it was good without it, but will make it again and put in the soy (it did seem to need some salt). I topped with fresh slices of tomato and that was a very nice addition. One thing I just noticed is that I used the whole 16oz. box of Penne not realizing this called for only 8oz. But it filled a 9X13 pan perfectly. So wonder about only 8oz. of noodles. Very creamy but not too rich, this is a real keeper in our household. Do put in a bit more Italian spices with the veggies if you like seasoning. Update: I had a half casserole dish leftover and after 24 hours in the fridge the noodles really soaked up the creamy sauce. I knew it would be dry when re-heating, so I made up some tomato sauce with Italian herbs and poured that over it. It was really fantastic with the added tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States