Portobello Penne Pasta Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Changed cheese to White cheddar, margarine to butter, pasta to whole wheat 1 full box, used oregano, and fresh baby spinach. Used what was in the fridge and pantry. Italianed it up!! Might add more garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Phenomenal. I used margarine and it turned out delicious (almost substituted butter but I had more margarine and needed to use it). I used one bag of fresh spinach, boiled in 1" boiling water with lid on for one minute. Mixed it all together, divided between two 8x8 glass pans (one for now, one for later..) and baked at 350 for 15 min, sprinkled a minute of breadcrumbs and Parmesan cheese on top and baked for another 5-10 min. Delicious!! The baby asked for seconds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Good the first nite. Did not like the left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Made this for the first time, tonight had extra mushrooms and pasta so added a touch more than original recipe and added a touch more basil, other than that followed to a T great dish with a lot of flavor my family and I loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Family and friends favorite. I add smoked salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I loved loved this recipe. I omitted the soy sauce but not by choice, i just forgot to add it. I also used fresh spinach and substituted the flour with corn starch. This is a dish I will definitely do again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I really love this recipe! I made it exactly as written but next time I will add more mushrooms and maybe some leeks too. It is a great start for a real crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I remember making something extremely similar to it, but forgot. So this reminded me of it and it isn't that fatty. (you don't need to use all that oil and butter the recipe calls for) the taste was great but you can replace the flour and butter and just let the cheese and milk cook a little longer. It reduced the fat by a lot. Also, you can pick any green you want and have the same great taste. (Kale, arugula etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Easy and delicious. Why use margarine when you can use butter? But cut it down to 1/4 cup; no more is needed. I doubled the garlic for extra flavor. An excellent one-dish dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
We really enjoyed this dish. I made a couple of changes to make the dish a little healthier. I cut the butter in half, used 1 3/4 cup of milk, used 1 tsp. of coconut oil to sauté the veggies, and did not use the soy sauce (due to the high sodium content). I doubled the garlic, added an onion, and I used a bag of penne pasta (16 oz.). I sauté the mushrooms and onion for 5-6 min. and then added the spinach. I cooked the flour and butter a couple of minutes before adding the milk to remove the flour taste. I added salt, pepper, Italian seasonings, and red pepper flakes to the sauce. I also used only 1 1/2 of cheese. Overall, a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red10

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States