Portobello Mushroom Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Brooke Widdicombe
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
I loved this recipe with a couple of tweaks made after I read some reviews and different recipes. I cut the sour cream to one cup and the vege stock/broth to one cup. I also added 2 tsp of minced garlic, 2 tsp of soy sauce, a 2 tsp of paprika and about a half of a 1/4 tsp of cinnamon. Loved it and managed to finish it all myself in 24 hours. Oops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Widdicombe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I'm a college student, so I tried to make this as easy as possible on me. I replaced the portobellos with baby Bella's, the sour cream with Greek yogurt, but I did take the advice of adding some soy sauce and a bit of red wine to the sauce. WORTH IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Added garlic, worshtisire and soy. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bex Atilano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Even though I don't eat mushrooms I cook them for my vegetarian grandson. I have to say the end result of cooking this was it smelled very good!! Thanks for all the suggestions as I don't taste these mushroom dishes that I cook the thanks and yumms I got were evidence that this recipe is a def keeper. Cut the sour cream as suggested, used 3 T. flour, soy and Worcestershire sauce with a dash of white wine. Will be making this to take with me to Easter dinner at the daughters house. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
loved this; wasn't sure what to expect- the flavors were rather complex! I followed the reviews of others who reduced sour cream to half a cur, added half a cup of sherry, one cup of broth, half tspn soy, 4-dashes of Worcester. It took a little time to cook, but I enjoyed every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I loved this after reading the reviews and making changes. I just wanted to add for any vegetarians... worchestire sauce is not vegetarian unless your lucky enough to live in an area that sells a veggie version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Add white pepper (prefer Chinese style) for the final "it's missin something" touch that sets your Stroganoff..OFF.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitchell Dorris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I liked this but my wife did not care for it. I used less than half of the recommended sour cream but it still overwhelmed the sauce very much. Use less sour cream and this is a solid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keith Rice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I have to disagree with the reviewers who say this needs any alterations to be a 5-star recipe. I've made this several times and it is simple and fantastic! The only specific thing I do is to use Better Than Bouillon Mushroom Base as the vegetable broth. My "I hate mushrooms" husband pushes aside the portobello slices but loves the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I made this per the recipe except for the vege broth - I used beef broth instead and found it very tasty. You really won't miss the meat. The portobello mushrooms are very "meaty"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States