Portobello Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This was wonderful! I too added a bit of onion and garlic and used evaporated milk instead of cream. Seasoned salt and freshly ground pepper gave a bit more flavor. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
This was a great recipe but I felt it needed more because I was serving it over pasta. So when I was melting the butter I added two shallots and two cloves of garlic. Also, I used fresh chives as well as fresh basil and dried basil as well. Salt and fresh ground pepper also added a nice touch. Overall, I would say this is definitely something you should make if you want your husband to look at you like you are a domestic goddess:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I've tried this sauce a few times with beef - wonderful!! Especially with the addition of plenty of shallots and a touch of fresh garlic. The only issue I ever had was that the sauce turned out with a pink/purple hue to it when using the red port. But I ran across a white port and decided to use that in this recipe instead. I served it with sauteed boneless chicken breast filets and, although the white port is a bit lighter than the red, it was absolutely fabulous!! My husband and guests loved it!! What a wonderful and versitile recipe for both chicken and beef!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Man, this recipe is to die for!!! I really think if your sauce is sweet or too strong - you did not reduce it enough. I was making the same mistake and my husband came in and brought it up to a rolling boil (which the recipe does not tell you to do) to cook off more of the alcohol and then we turned it back down to a simmer. It truly made all the difference!!! Very rich flavor - I would give it 10 stars if I could!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBigler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brady, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Wonderful sauce to serve over Filet Mignon! I add in all sorts of mushrooms, whatever looks good at market...shiitake, oyster, along with portobello!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
My family love this sauce over steak, particularly as my husband can no longer eat onions. I have also added a bit more cream and added this to pasta which makes a delicious creamy mushrom sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This was awesome. I used this with a tenderloin. I used fresh portobello mushrooms that we grew. Wouldn't change anything. Even my husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandimander

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I used a tawny port wine, which is milder and less sweet than ruby port wines, but still sweet. I added about 1 cup of Parmesan cheese, 1/2 cup chopped spring onion, some garlic and pepper and a dash of salt to taste. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. I served this over artichoke-stuffed ravioli and it was a huge hit! The color of the sauce itself isn't appetizing but the addition of spring onion and basil over ravioli adds other colors, which helps. So rich that I would only make it to share with guests so I don't kill just my hubby and me with calories. Will definitely try this again. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonbirdliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This sounds like it should be delicious. When it was finished (pretty easy to make) I tried it and thought 'uh oh...it's not that great'. Once it was on the steaks, though, the flavour somehow complemented the steak wonderfully. My only issue was the port I used was pretty strong, and I probably didn't cook it for long enough, as it was a predominent flavor. It also doesn't keep well with leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I tried this dip out on my husband one night as an appetizer before dinner. We spoon it onto sliced french bread. Before we knew it, we downed the whole bowl full and barely even touched our dinner! Since, I have served it over baked chicken breast. It is always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States