Portobello Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
fantastic!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Man, this recipe is to die for!!! I really think if your sauce is sweet or too strong - you did not reduce it enough. I was making the same mistake and my husband came in and brought it up to a rolling boil (which the recipe does not tell you to do) to cook off more of the alcohol and then we turned it back down to a simmer. It truly made all the difference!!! Very rich flavor - I would give it 10 stars if I could!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBigler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brady, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Our family did not care for this sauce. I imagine the taste depends on the type of port used. The sauce had a very bland not so good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SBATES26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I was a little disappointed by this recipe, especially because I LOVE mushrooms! Maybe I did something wrong but I followed the recipe pretty closely. I really didn't like the color of the sauce...kind of a greyish pink color. It wasn't very appetizing to look at. The flavor was pretty good but didn't blow me away. We served it over steak and I think I would have rather just eaten the steak on its own. Looks like a lot of people loved it though so you may not want to take my review to heart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This was awesome! I served it over steak but will be using the leftovers for pasta!!!! A new favorite thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I've tried this sauce a few times with beef - wonderful!! Especially with the addition of plenty of shallots and a touch of fresh garlic. The only issue I ever had was that the sauce turned out with a pink/purple hue to it when using the red port. But I ran across a white port and decided to use that in this recipe instead. I served it with sauteed boneless chicken breast filets and, although the white port is a bit lighter than the red, it was absolutely fabulous!! My husband and guests loved it!! What a wonderful and versitile recipe for both chicken and beef!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This sounds like it should be delicious. When it was finished (pretty easy to make) I tried it and thought 'uh oh...it's not that great'. Once it was on the steaks, though, the flavour somehow complemented the steak wonderfully. My only issue was the port I used was pretty strong, and I probably didn't cook it for long enough, as it was a predominent flavor. It also doesn't keep well with leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I served it over small fillets once with potatoes and once with pasta - it was great both times. The second time I forgot the basil and my boyfreind said it was "missing something" but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This was very good. I only added some garlic and parsley while cooking the mushrooms. I served this over baked chicken and angel hair pasta. A mild sweet taste. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Wonderful sauce to serve over Filet Mignon! I add in all sorts of mushrooms, whatever looks good at market...shiitake, oyster, along with portobello!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States