Portobello Mushroom Ravioli with Prawns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
I also removed the prawns after they turned pink and put them back in at the end to warm them up. Sauce took longer to boil down than I expected because even the ravoli was done before the sauce--and I'm not that fast! Delicious flavor and I forgot the parmesan to begin with, so we got to taste with and without. Good both ways, but slightly better with the cheese. But four ravoli was okay for me--not for my husband. Plan on 6 for a bigger eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
This dish was a nice change-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
I thought I would try this recipe on my husband for Valentines Day. He thought it was really good, and that is coming from someone who is a meat-and-potatos kind of guy. I would definatly make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnsboro, Texas, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
what a great dish. never thought i would like ravioli other than with tomato sauce. my husband, who is italian, and wants everything with sauce, (or gravy)as he calls it, liked it very much. thanks michelle for a new twist on ravioli
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
This recipe was great, but I added a half teaspoon of lemon juice in the sauce, and topped it with tomatoes and green onions for additional color and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
Loved it! What wonderful flavors. As somebody else commented, I too put the shrimp in last 3- 4 minutes so it wouldn't be over cooked. I also took the suggestion not to use too much parmesan, but I wish I would have had a little more. It really works with this dish. Thanks for this recipe. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
I left out the parmesan because it's pretty much unheard of to serve such a strong cheese over the delicate flavor of seafood like prawns. Completely covers them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
This was excellent. I agree with the other cook, the shrimp would be overcooked if you left them in the sauce all that time; however I think the juices from the seafood add something to the sauce, so what I did was this: Add the shrimp when the recipe said to, and then remove with a slotted spoon after they turn pink and set aside while the rest of the sauce is reducing. Then I put the shrimps back in the sauce at the end to warm them before serving. Additionally, I was out of capers so instead I used a tablespoon of crushed, chopped soft green peppercorns (from a jar in brine). Worked great!! You need to add some fresh chopped parsley or basil for garnish, it is not a very colorful plate without it. There was something sort of sensual about this dish..I will definitely make this again maybe even for Valentine's day?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
My husband's comment was "this is one of the best dishes you've ever made", and he considers me a very good cook. It was quick and easy and, oh so sinfully delicious. While a little rich with all the butter and oil, it's something to definitely treat yourself to once in a while! The only changes I made to it were to add MUCH more garlic (almost a head) and I waited until the end to add the shrimp so that it wasn't overcooked. It seemes like a lot of mushrooms, but they cook down. This recipe will become a fixture in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2000
I made a vegetarian version--same but without the prawns. Still excellent. I did leave out the capers but added diced fresh tomato with the lemon juice at the end. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Farmstand Ravioli with Zucchini

Prepared cheese ravioli simmer in a flavorful tomato sauce.

St. Louis Toasted Ravioli

Breaded ravioli are fried and served with marinara sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States