Portobello Mushroom Ravioli with Prawns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
I also removed the prawns after they turned pink and put them back in at the end to warm them up. Sauce took longer to boil down than I expected because even the ravoli was done before the sauce--and I'm not that fast! Delicious flavor and I forgot the parmesan to begin with, so we got to taste with and without. Good both ways, but slightly better with the cheese. But four ravoli was okay for me--not for my husband. Plan on 6 for a bigger eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
This dish was a nice change-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
I thought I would try this recipe on my husband for Valentines Day. He thought it was really good, and that is coming from someone who is a meat-and-potatos kind of guy. I would definatly make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnsboro, Texas, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
what a great dish. never thought i would like ravioli other than with tomato sauce. my husband, who is italian, and wants everything with sauce, (or gravy)as he calls it, liked it very much. thanks michelle for a new twist on ravioli
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
This recipe was great, but I added a half teaspoon of lemon juice in the sauce, and topped it with tomatoes and green onions for additional color and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
Loved it! What wonderful flavors. As somebody else commented, I too put the shrimp in last 3- 4 minutes so it wouldn't be over cooked. I also took the suggestion not to use too much parmesan, but I wish I would have had a little more. It really works with this dish. Thanks for this recipe. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
I left out the parmesan because it's pretty much unheard of to serve such a strong cheese over the delicate flavor of seafood like prawns. Completely covers them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
This was excellent. I agree with the other cook, the shrimp would be overcooked if you left them in the sauce all that time; however I think the juices from the seafood add something to the sauce, so what I did was this: Add the shrimp when the recipe said to, and then remove with a slotted spoon after they turn pink and set aside while the rest of the sauce is reducing. Then I put the shrimps back in the sauce at the end to warm them before serving. Additionally, I was out of capers so instead I used a tablespoon of crushed, chopped soft green peppercorns (from a jar in brine). Worked great!! You need to add some fresh chopped parsley or basil for garnish, it is not a very colorful plate without it. There was something sort of sensual about this dish..I will definitely make this again maybe even for Valentine's day?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
My husband's comment was "this is one of the best dishes you've ever made", and he considers me a very good cook. It was quick and easy and, oh so sinfully delicious. While a little rich with all the butter and oil, it's something to definitely treat yourself to once in a while! The only changes I made to it were to add MUCH more garlic (almost a head) and I waited until the end to add the shrimp so that it wasn't overcooked. It seemes like a lot of mushrooms, but they cook down. This recipe will become a fixture in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2000
I made a vegetarian version--same but without the prawns. Still excellent. I did leave out the capers but added diced fresh tomato with the lemon juice at the end. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Farmstand Ravioli with Zucchini

Prepared cheese ravioli simmer in a flavorful tomato sauce.

St. Louis Toasted Ravioli

Breaded ravioli are fried and served with marinara sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States