Portobello Mushroom Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
I cooked this recipie for the girls in my scholarship hall for lunch today, and all I got were rave reviews. I reccomend adding a bit of either garlic salt or salt to the recipie to enhance the flavor of all the veggies. Pepper works well too. If I had made it for a small group of people, it would have been very quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This was really good. I made two adjustments-mostly because I had some other ingredients. I added some crumbled bacon and a few sprigs of fresh sage. It disappeared fast in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
OMG! This is so good. We have been trying to eat vegetarian a few evening a weeks in an effort to be healthier. So far most of the dishes have either failed or been so-so. This is a keeper. The only changes I made was to use balsamic vinegar (no wine vinegar in the pantry), add carmalized onions, roasted garlic and summer squash because I had all on hand. Took others advice and added extra garlic and herbs. Can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This is a great simple pasta dish. I did add a bit of diced onion out of habit (EVOO, garlic, onion...I was chopping and adding on rote!) and enjoyed the addition. I'm not sure how many mushrooms I added; I purchased a *tub* of the pre sliced baby bellas. I will double them next time. I also added a few dashes of crushed red pepper for a little heat. This is a super quick & easy meatless meal. I enjoyed the combination of the red bells and zukes. THANKS, for a great recipe, Patricia (and thanks RE user AZ for steering me towards this recipe!)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Yummm! This was a treat! I added chicken, garlic powder, italian seasoning, onions, and some squash. How tasty and healthy, the whole family enojyed this-goes good with a salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
As with another reviewer, my own husband saw me making this dish and thought it was weird that it didn't have a "sauce". But despite that, we both found the dish to be quite flavourful. I chopped the veggies in the food processor, and added red onion and a tomato chopped by hand. I also added cracked black pepper. I am making an effort to eat vegetarian a few days per week for health reasons, and this receipe will definely remain on my radar. My only complaint is that one would have to add a ton of parmesan cheese for it to make an impact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I loved the premise of this recipe, but I did end up changing it a bit to fit what we had on hand. Cooked veggies in EVOO and crushed garlic, then added yellow squash and diced onion, plus salt, pepper, Italian seasoning, crushed red pepper flakes, garlic powder and extra red wine vinegar at the end. Substituted spaghetti squash instead of pasta and served separately (instead of adding pasta to veggies in skillet). Added shrimp (sauteed separately and added to skillet at the end). Because of my changes, I will rate this the same as the recipe's current rating, which is 4 stars. We really did love it as prepared, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EricaSea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Great recipe! Like another reviewer I used balsamic vinegar instead of red. Either would be delicious. I also used 2 zucchini and 2 yellow squash. Had white button mushrooms so used those. This is a great base recipe for summer vegetable pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
My rating scale (cause number of stars is subjective): 1-Didn't like it, 2-It's okay, 3-Liked it, 4-Loved it, 5-Can't get enough of it. ***** Very simple, healthy and delicious. Didn't add the parm for cooking, but provided on the side to add at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Very good. Even my husband, who is not a huge vegetable lover, liked it. He never even missed the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage & Mushroom Pasta Marinara

Pair the bold flavors of smoked sausage with mushrooms and marinara sauce.

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Creamy Mushroom Pasta

This cream sauce stars two kinds of mushrooms, fresh herbs, and sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States