Portobello Mushroom Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I loved the premise of this recipe, but I did end up changing it a bit to fit what we had on hand. Cooked veggies in EVOO and crushed garlic, then added yellow squash and diced onion, plus salt, pepper, Italian seasoning, crushed red pepper flakes, garlic powder and extra red wine vinegar at the end. Substituted spaghetti squash instead of pasta and served separately (instead of adding pasta to veggies in skillet). Added shrimp (sauteed separately and added to skillet at the end). Because of my changes, I will rate this the same as the recipe's current rating, which is 4 stars. We really did love it as prepared, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EricaSea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
The vinegar gives this dish a sour taste, not very pleasant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ghenghis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This was really good. I made two adjustments-mostly because I had some other ingredients. I added some crumbled bacon and a few sprigs of fresh sage. It disappeared fast in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
My rating scale (cause number of stars is subjective): 1-Didn't like it, 2-It's okay, 3-Liked it, 4-Loved it, 5-Can't get enough of it. ***** Very simple, healthy and delicious. Didn't add the parm for cooking, but provided on the side to add at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This was just OK. Not anything that I'll make again. The red wine vinegar taste was too overpowering, even though I did let it cook down in the pan. To get it to taste halfway decent, I added a lot more cheese (see photo) than what the recipe calls for and probably quadrupled the calories of it. Oh well. Dinner tonight will be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This was a very good, easy, light vegetarian dish. Like others, I also added red onion and Italian seasoning. I only had a half a box of the bowtie pasta, which ended up being plenty. It made 3 large servings, or 4 small portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I would give this a 6 out of 10. There was very little flavour and it was quite watery. I am surprised it has gotten as many reviews as it has!! I consider myself a very healthy eater, but I had to add TONS of Parmesan to make this dish work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This was pretty good and healthy for a simple dish. I made it exactly as written, and this was the first time I'd ever cooked with portabello mushrooms. I was a little bit surprised at a pasta dish with no sauce (other than the little bit of red wine vinegar), but it worked nicely. I hardly noticed the cheeese, though; I love cheese and wouldn't have minded a lot more here. I did find that, unlike some other recipes, reheated leftovers of this dish were not nearly as nice as fresh, so I'd recommend that it be shared and eaten right away. (I did get a little confused by a glitch in the directions; I wondered why the veggies were being sauteed "dry"; then noticed that the directions never mentioned using the olive oil that was listed in the ingredients.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I made this tonight for dinner and at first my husband thought it was weird that it didn't have a "sauce". But he tried it anyway and really liked it! It's yummy, and I like all the veggies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This wasn't bad but probably one of the most underwhelming recipes ever. Pricey portobella mushrooms are better used elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage & Mushroom Pasta Marinara

Pair the bold flavors of smoked sausage with mushrooms and marinara sauce.

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Creamy Mushroom Pasta

This cream sauce stars two kinds of mushrooms, fresh herbs, and sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States