Portobello Mushroom Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was really good! I didn't have cooking sherry, so I didn't add it. I also didn't have a green pepper, so I put in some celery, which was good! I did take some fresh, washed spinach and shredded it into my bowl of hot soup. I got the idea from another lentil soup recipe and it tasted really good in here. Maybe too much basil, next time I won't add so much. I did keep adding water to the soup as it cooked, but that's my personal preference on how thick I like it. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
Absolutely delicious and very, very easy. A nice change from the typical celery/carrot lentil soups. I used about half of the recommended amount of lentils so that it didn't get too thick, and it came out wonderfully. The tomato paste gave it a wonderfully rich flavor, so if you prefer your soups "brothier," go with less tomato paste. We skipped the sherry and just went with a sprinkling of parmesan and it was perfect. This probably would work well with cannellini if you don't have lentils on hand. Thanks for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Delicious! I used homemade veggie broth and extra chicken broth I had lying around. I simmered for about 1 hr and had to add about 2 extra cups of broth because it was so thick. I also used rosemary and thyme in addition to the basil (I also added extra basil). I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneseo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Very easy and very good. I substituted half the chicken broth for beef broth to give it a more hearty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Great lentil soup recipe! Instead of tomato paste, I added a 14.5 oz. can of fire-roasted tomatoes. Forgot to add in the sherry and parm...if you use low-sodium chicken broth, you will need to add quite a bit of salt for flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was easy to prepare and very tasty. I added carrots just because I like them and used yellow lentils because that was what I had. I will make this a staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This was very good! I added a little cumin and red pepper flakes because I like spice. Like some other reviewers suggested, I used less lentils than called for. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brooke Decker
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Best lentil soup yet! (Didn't have sherry so I left that out)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Decker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Everyone loved it. I used real sherry afterwards and no cheese. Yummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is a fabulous soup! I was looking for a Lentil soup recipe without carrots and stumbled across this one. I was somewhat hesitant because I was concerned the mushrooms may be too overwhelming - I am SO glad I made it - it is very very good! The mushrooms are not overpowering at all. I used all the ingredients and only substituted yellow onion for red (since that's all I had in my pantry) - plus I omitted the parmesan cheese for a healthier option. GREAT and TASTY soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States