Portobello Mushroom Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
Absolutely delicious and very, very easy. A nice change from the typical celery/carrot lentil soups. I used about half of the recommended amount of lentils so that it didn't get too thick, and it came out wonderfully. The tomato paste gave it a wonderfully rich flavor, so if you prefer your soups "brothier," go with less tomato paste. We skipped the sherry and just went with a sprinkling of parmesan and it was perfect. This probably would work well with cannellini if you don't have lentils on hand. Thanks for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
This is a balanced, hearty soup which will be especially popular on winter nights. I only had 4 cups of broth so mine turned out a little more like stew than soup but is quite tasty anyway. I wouldn't suggest serving this to anyone who doesn't like lentils as the flavor definitely comes through, but the onion and pepper flavors are less pronounced. I might top some of the leftovers with sour cream and a little salt instead of parmesan. Next time I make this I will probably add more mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
I substituted celery for the green pepper & only added a dash of basil instaed of 4 teaspoons. I used a 32 oz. box of chicken broth & a 14 oz. can. The soup gets pretty thick though so you may want to add more broth, possibly at the end. I did simmer the soup for longer than the recipe said. It tastes good with & without the added sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I've been trying a lot of lentil recipes lately because my family is trying to eat cheap and healthy meals. This is one of my favorites. I usually don't like soups very much, but I did like this. It doesn't need the sherry though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Portobello mushrooms are hard to find where we live so when I ran across them I thought I'd try something new! So.. this soup was what I did. I have one word... BLECH! It was not even edible. My son asked me why the soup tasted like "bathwater!" and he wasn't being rude - he was just asking like any 4 year old. Honestly, I'm not a negative reviewer, but I felt I needed to warn others...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREGOCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was really good! I didn't have cooking sherry, so I didn't add it. I also didn't have a green pepper, so I put in some celery, which was good! I did take some fresh, washed spinach and shredded it into my bowl of hot soup. I got the idea from another lentil soup recipe and it tasted really good in here. Maybe too much basil, next time I won't add so much. I did keep adding water to the soup as it cooked, but that's my personal preference on how thick I like it. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
substituted some water with tomato sauce as we had not tomato paste, used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth, nice simple soup that we will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Very good! Next time I'd use less lentils and more mushrooms. A nice, easy, satisfying soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.PeanutButterBoy.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mom2aMunch
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Best lentil soup yet! (Didn't have sherry so I left that out)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom2aMunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was easy to prepare and very tasty. I added carrots just because I like them and used yellow lentils because that was what I had. I will make this a staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States