Portobello Mushroom Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Delicious! I used homemade veggie broth and extra chicken broth I had lying around. I simmered for about 1 hr and had to add about 2 extra cups of broth because it was so thick. I also used rosemary and thyme in addition to the basil (I also added extra basil). I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneseo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
Absolutely delicious and very, very easy. A nice change from the typical celery/carrot lentil soups. I used about half of the recommended amount of lentils so that it didn't get too thick, and it came out wonderfully. The tomato paste gave it a wonderfully rich flavor, so if you prefer your soups "brothier," go with less tomato paste. We skipped the sherry and just went with a sprinkling of parmesan and it was perfect. This probably would work well with cannellini if you don't have lentils on hand. Thanks for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This was very good! I added a little cumin and red pepper flakes because I like spice. Like some other reviewers suggested, I used less lentils than called for. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Very easy and very good. I substituted half the chicken broth for beef broth to give it a more hearty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was easy to prepare and very tasty. I added carrots just because I like them and used yellow lentils because that was what I had. I will make this a staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mom2aMunch
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Best lentil soup yet! (Didn't have sherry so I left that out)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom2aMunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was really good! I didn't have cooking sherry, so I didn't add it. I also didn't have a green pepper, so I put in some celery, which was good! I did take some fresh, washed spinach and shredded it into my bowl of hot soup. I got the idea from another lentil soup recipe and it tasted really good in here. Maybe too much basil, next time I won't add so much. I did keep adding water to the soup as it cooked, but that's my personal preference on how thick I like it. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Everyone loved it. I used real sherry afterwards and no cheese. Yummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is a fabulous soup! I was looking for a Lentil soup recipe without carrots and stumbled across this one. I was somewhat hesitant because I was concerned the mushrooms may be too overwhelming - I am SO glad I made it - it is very very good! The mushrooms are not overpowering at all. I used all the ingredients and only substituted yellow onion for red (since that's all I had in my pantry) - plus I omitted the parmesan cheese for a healthier option. GREAT and TASTY soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Great lentil soup recipe! Instead of tomato paste, I added a 14.5 oz. can of fire-roasted tomatoes. Forgot to add in the sherry and parm...if you use low-sodium chicken broth, you will need to add quite a bit of salt for flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States