Portobello Mushroom Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
It was edible and my oldest daughter said it was 'decent'. It wasn't horrible, but nothing to rave about. Nobody would have seconds and I will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
After making a few modifications this turned out beautifully! I used one can each of kidney and black. TONS of garlic and the usual chili ingredients: carrots, celery and more tomatoes than it called for. I used quite a few more seasonings also, some cajun etc. and cooked it in a dutch oven iron skillet. Because of this I had to add more water at one point and ended up still cooking it for less than 40 mins (maybe 25? can't really remember). I also added ground turkey, though it didn't need it...the mushrooms were fantastic in it. Next time would add lots more! They made the chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGOSLAND

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I thought this was pretty good. I worried about having too much mushroom squishiness but it was a meaty flavor, and I liked it. I served with cheddar sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
I have made this a couple times. last time i added some hot italian sausage and topped it with sour cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
This was very good! My grown daughter who doesn't really like chili called it "the best ever". Everyone had seconds. I served it with grated cheese and cornbread. But I did make a few changes- I used 6 cloves of garlic, added a can of black beans as other reviewers suggested, added 1/2 pound of shitakes that I had in the fridge and 1 pound of sausage so there would be some protein in there. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suemck
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Delicious! I did add about 3/4 lb. browned ground beef and some tomato sauce, but the real star of this chili is the mushrooms. Served this with cornbread muffins and it sure didn't last long! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I made this for my daughter and myself following the recipe exactly and we both enjoyed it. I think when making again though I would add in some celery and may be some green pepper as it felt like there was something missing. Still good though. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This was a great chili that differs from the norm. I used 2 lbs of baby bella mushrooms, added a chopped green pepper, used slightly more chili powder and threw in at least a tbls of cumin. I actually cooked this in the crock pot and decided to add about half of a can of beef broth just to make sure it didn't dry out. I will use this one again in the future - thank you for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This was a great chili that was so different. I used 2 lbs of cremini mushrooms, slightly more chili powder and threw in at least a tbls of cumin. I loved the flavor and texture the mushrooms gave the chili. Next time I may take thequalitycookdotcom's suggestion and add a green pepper. Oh I served the leftovers with whole wheat egg noodles and it was great. Thanks for a great recipe! I'm sure I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
I thought this was a really good beginning, GOURMETGUY. As did others, I added to it. More mushrooms (button), double the garlic, cumin and oregano, a can of pinto beans, a bit of tomato sauce and beef broth and some sauteed celery and green pepper made for one hearty and delicious chili-like mushroomy dish, which went really well wih Corn Muffins I (also from this site) and honey butter the first night. Served the leftovers atop buttered egg noodles, and that was good, as well. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States