Portobello Mushroom Caps and Veggies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
We thought this turned out very well, I was worried that the juice in the mushroom would soak through the bread but had no problem at all. We went a different route and added an Asian twist and used soy sauce and a bit of dried ginger with white pepper and a bit of rooster sauce for heat. We will try it again with some other kind of twist maybe with the balsamic and olive oil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Shaws
Living In: Urbandale, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
We really wanted a light meal after all the "holiday eating" and these were perfect. They still filled us up, but did not feel so heavy. I followed what others said and added some white wine and balsamic vinegar (not too much) right before adding the mushrooms. I also added a bit of cayenne pepper to spice it up a bit. So good! We'll probably do these in the summer on the grill, too. I served it with sauteed spinach and a side of confetti barley pilaf (from this site). Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fennville, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I added some flavor to spice this up a bit! French bread toasted, topped with pepper, balsamic vinegar and parm cheese. Yummy !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Delicious! I just added a little red bell pepper for color and left the veggies semi-crunchy, but those were just my preferences. This is wonderful just the way it is. So you know, I'm a meat-eater trying to become a vegetarian; this with some brown rice kept me satisfied and happy while the rest of my family were eating a roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Yummy...I made this as a side dish rather than a main....I used a whole pack of baby bella mushrooms cut in quaters, 1 red, 1 yellow and 1 orange bell pepper thin sliced , 1 vidalia onion sliced , to cloves of garlic minced and I also added some fresh cracked pepper, dried basil and parsley. Delicious along side BBQ grilled chicken breast. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
this is a great recipe. i added some soya sauce and feta cheese for a little more flavour and ate it as a full meal. definitely recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I marinated the mushrooms in soy sauce while the onions, garlic, and peppers cooked. I ate these over pine toasted couscous and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I made this like a stir-fry, with frozen vegeatables and served it over rice. It was flavorful,healthy and filling, although I would consider it a "light" supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Very good. I too added some balsamic vinegar and some soy sauce to the olive oil. I paired it with some sautéed chard and rice - it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This was pretty good for how simple it was to prepare. I added some worcestershire sauce, soy sauce, and a dash of hot sauce to the veggies and mushrooms. My whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States