Portobello Lemon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
This chicken dinner is out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
I have made this recipe with portobello mushrooms and also with white mushrooms, Both ways were excellent and my family loves this recipe. However, I only used one lemon as two large ones overpowered the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
Delicious, simple recipe - my husband loved it! I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts to cut out the fat, so to compensate, I marinated the chicken in lemon juice for several hours and added a few tbs of water to the bottom of the pan so the mushrooms wouldn't dry out. I also spread each chicken breast with about 1/4 tsp chicken base for extra flavor. During the last 8-10 minutes I added some zucchini chunks and tossed with the mushrooms and onions. The result - a complete meal right out of the oven! Next time I think I'll try using fresh garlic cloves instead of the powder. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Absolutely delish. I added garlic (of course), emeril's seasoning, and red pepper flakes - definitely a do-over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe. I made it with chicken thighs and drizzled just a little Italian dressing on top. Very tender with lots of flavor! Oh, and EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BDZABINSKI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
Truly enjoyable! I used bone-in chicken breasts. I marinated them for a couple of hours first with the lemon juice, minced garlic, and a couple of tablespoons of zesty Italian dressing I had left in a bottle. I also removed the skin from the chicken, since I wanted to reduce the fat and several people said leaving it on made the mushrooms taste odd. My husband isn't a big fan of portobellas, and he cleaned his plate! The lemon is strong, so some may want to reduce the amount used--I loved it with the strong citrus flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
This is really good. I embellished the recipe just a bit by adding shallots, fresh thyme and marinating both the chicken and the mushrooms (separately)in a lemon based marinade for an hour or so. It was a great way to use up extra portabello mushrooms without fusing with a grill, which is my usual method of cooking them. Thanks for the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
This was absolutely delicious, thank you so much! We eat chicken thighs at least once a week and this recipe is definietly going into the rotation. I did not change any of the ingredients, however I did alter the prep to make this dish more flavorful. First I season the bottom of the thighs. Then I place them skin side up in the dish and peel back the skin completely but leaving it attached along one edge. Then I season the bare meat with the spices and lemon juice. Replace the skin into its original position, drizzle each piece with a little olive oil and massage into the skin with your fingers. Bake at 375 for 1 hour and you won't have to mess with turning or broiling - just walk away. Your skin will be nicely crispy and the chicken will be moist and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Great chicken, Used chicken thighs cut to one lemon and shaved the zest before squzing the juce, lemon pepper, season salt and garlic salt. EVOO on chicken before spices, 1 hr 350
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed.Dolanski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Delicious! I had no mushrooms, so I used potatoes instead. I cooked the chicken covered for 40 minutes and then uncovered for 20 more minutes. Came perfect, maybe the best chicken I ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neen718

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States