Portobello Lemon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
Delicious, simple recipe - my husband loved it! I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts to cut out the fat, so to compensate, I marinated the chicken in lemon juice for several hours and added a few tbs of water to the bottom of the pan so the mushrooms wouldn't dry out. I also spread each chicken breast with about 1/4 tsp chicken base for extra flavor. During the last 8-10 minutes I added some zucchini chunks and tossed with the mushrooms and onions. The result - a complete meal right out of the oven! Next time I think I'll try using fresh garlic cloves instead of the powder. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
This was absolutely delicious, thank you so much! We eat chicken thighs at least once a week and this recipe is definietly going into the rotation. I did not change any of the ingredients, however I did alter the prep to make this dish more flavorful. First I season the bottom of the thighs. Then I place them skin side up in the dish and peel back the skin completely but leaving it attached along one edge. Then I season the bare meat with the spices and lemon juice. Replace the skin into its original position, drizzle each piece with a little olive oil and massage into the skin with your fingers. Bake at 375 for 1 hour and you won't have to mess with turning or broiling - just walk away. Your skin will be nicely crispy and the chicken will be moist and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
I have made this recipe with portobello mushrooms and also with white mushrooms, Both ways were excellent and my family loves this recipe. However, I only used one lemon as two large ones overpowered the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Great chicken, Used chicken thighs cut to one lemon and shaved the zest before squzing the juce, lemon pepper, season salt and garlic salt. EVOO on chicken before spices, 1 hr 350
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed.Dolanski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
The chicken was good but the mushrooms (in my opinion) were ruined by being cooked in the chicken fat that drips out of the chicken. If I did it over I'd cook them separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Buckley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I was somewhat disappointed in this overall. I followed the recipe exactly as written and it never picked up any real flavor from any of the ingredients, just kinda blah. Nobody in the family really cared for it. It may need some additional seasoning to perk it up. It was very easy however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I tried to make this without the skin to save calories, but I don't think it was the same. I found the chicken was flavorful, but not the veggies. It was entirely edible, but unless I make it with the skin, I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, New York, USA
Living In: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Very good! I added garlic and Mrs.Dash to it and the kids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
it was good i added a few extra seasonings but the recipe was really good by itself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Easy. Delicious. An absolute keeper. Thanks Gary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roadrunner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States