Portobello Lemon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Great chicken, Used chicken thighs cut to one lemon and shaved the zest before squzing the juce, lemon pepper, season salt and garlic salt. EVOO on chicken before spices, 1 hr 350
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed.Dolanski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
well, the chicken is STILL cooking, after an hour...I'm afraid to eat it...I'll revise once I start eating the rubbery mass...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
This was absolutely delicious, thank you so much! We eat chicken thighs at least once a week and this recipe is definietly going into the rotation. I did not change any of the ingredients, however I did alter the prep to make this dish more flavorful. First I season the bottom of the thighs. Then I place them skin side up in the dish and peel back the skin completely but leaving it attached along one edge. Then I season the bare meat with the spices and lemon juice. Replace the skin into its original position, drizzle each piece with a little olive oil and massage into the skin with your fingers. Bake at 375 for 1 hour and you won't have to mess with turning or broiling - just walk away. Your skin will be nicely crispy and the chicken will be moist and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
This is really good. I embellished the recipe just a bit by adding shallots, fresh thyme and marinating both the chicken and the mushrooms (separately)in a lemon based marinade for an hour or so. It was a great way to use up extra portabello mushrooms without fusing with a grill, which is my usual method of cooking them. Thanks for the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
Truly enjoyable! I used bone-in chicken breasts. I marinated them for a couple of hours first with the lemon juice, minced garlic, and a couple of tablespoons of zesty Italian dressing I had left in a bottle. I also removed the skin from the chicken, since I wanted to reduce the fat and several people said leaving it on made the mushrooms taste odd. My husband isn't a big fan of portobellas, and he cleaned his plate! The lemon is strong, so some may want to reduce the amount used--I loved it with the strong citrus flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I tried to make this without the skin to save calories, but I don't think it was the same. I found the chicken was flavorful, but not the veggies. It was entirely edible, but unless I make it with the skin, I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, New York, USA
Living In: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe. I made it with chicken thighs and drizzled just a little Italian dressing on top. Very tender with lots of flavor! Oh, and EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BDZABINSKI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I tried to add to this (real garlic & spices) to spice it up a bit as suggested and it was still blah. The only thing I could suggest that might save it is to add a can of cream of mushroom soup. Sorry, it was edible but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Absolutely delish. I added garlic (of course), emeril's seasoning, and red pepper flakes - definitely a do-over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
I cooked this as directed but something just wasnt fantastic. It was ok. Chicken was ok but nothing jumped out at me as far as flavor goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States