Portabella Nirvana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I serve this as an entree not appetizer and shamefully I marinate the mushroom tops in butter not dressing. Its heaven alright- if you like portabella you will love this. the crab influence is very mild so its not at all fishy. I've made this probably 20 times if that tells you anything! Costco has great portabella mushrooms and canned crab meat btw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oak Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
This recipe is a good "basic". I found it a little bland so I reduced the amount of butter, used Italian bread crumbs instead of buttery crackers and added Old Bay seasoning. Much better and easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2002
I really liked the taste of these stuffed mushrooms, so did my family. Can't give it a kid's rating, since I did not serve it to anyone under 18. I may try marinating the mushrooms in a butter-garlic-lemon mixture next time, but make the stuffing exactly as the recipe says. I'm not sure how much you can rely on the stars I've given, since I'm used to chopping, dicing, and slicing when I cook. I thought it was easy to prepare and cook - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPA_G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Darmstadt, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
Made this twice with variations. 1st time used boiled lobster 8 oz. tail, no dressing only olive oil prior to broiling, only 15 crackers, fresh rosemary and Italian parsley, and 1 cup of swiss cheese. 2nd time - 15 no salt saltines, drizzled italian dressing prior to broiling, omitted celery. The first variation was far superior to the second. Very impressive - good date appetizer (meal) or party fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINNONA

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
To much italian dressing stays on the mushrooms. Neither my husband nor i could eat it. May try to revise to leave out salad dressing. Stuffing was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Easy to make Easy ingredients Tasty finish Restaurant quality taste straight from my oven! The only issue I had was that it was SO RICH when I finished up. My husband doesn't like sea food so I probably won't make it again. It was good, just wasn't what I was looking to taste when I was finished up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliahill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Rockledge, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
The only change I made was to use breadcrumbs instead of the crackers because that is what I had on hand. I was feeling lazy and didn't remove the stems just to add them back later but that didn't affect the flavor. I used salted butter and between that and the Zesty Italian dressing it was a tad too salty. I recommend using no salt butter and not using any "salt to taste". These were very rich and YUMMY! Update-I forgot to mention that I DID add a couple dashes of Old Bay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Delicious! I used a couple tablespoons of olive oil instead of butter and it still tasted fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crazy Legs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I substituted portobellini mushrooms, used fake crab, Zesty Italian dressing & left out the crackers, and subsequently inhaled them directly. Absolutely delicious! This is the best thing done to crab since cream cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sinton, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Simple Recipe! I was able to Fill 3 mushrooms with this filling. Next time, I would add a lot more garlic and add old bay seasoning. I would use more crab and less crackers as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States