Portabella Nirvana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
I was really excited about this recipe, but it came out really bland in my opinion. Next time I'll probably try marinating the mushrooms in lemon/garlic, with more crabmeat (not the canned stuff either) and less crackers. And maybe find a remoulade to serve along with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crownsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
Coming from Mary;and, it was against my nature not to add Old Bay Seasoning, however, this recipie is wonderful just as it is written. I was worried about the amount of dressiing suggested for the marinade so I did cut that down a bit and I topped the final product with a little remainder cheese. I was also out of buttery crackers so I made butter croutons that I crumbled into the crab cheese mixture. Beautiful presentation and perfect for the portabello mushroom lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I serve this as an entree not appetizer and shamefully I marinate the mushroom tops in butter not dressing. Its heaven alright- if you like portabella you will love this. the crab influence is very mild so its not at all fishy. I've made this probably 20 times if that tells you anything! Costco has great portabella mushrooms and canned crab meat btw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oak Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I made these for a special New Year's Eve dinner, and they were a hit! They were easy to make and turned out delicious. I did not marinate them in dressing, and I did not use an "Italian blend" cheese. I skipped the marinade altogether and just used the shredded chees I had (cheddar, monterey jack, and asadero). Everyone raved about how elegant they looked, and how great they tasted. Even the kids ate them and asked for more....Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Simple Recipe! I was able to Fill 3 mushrooms with this filling. Next time, I would add a lot more garlic and add old bay seasoning. I would use more crab and less crackers as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
this is sooo good... my mom made it using cheese-it type crackers instead of the buttery crackers...definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
This recipe is excellent. Great side dish or could be a light meal served with a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
To much italian dressing stays on the mushrooms. Neither my husband nor i could eat it. May try to revise to leave out salad dressing. Stuffing was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
This recipe is a good "basic". I found it a little bland so I reduced the amount of butter, used Italian bread crumbs instead of buttery crackers and added Old Bay seasoning. Much better and easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
Great appetizer or dinner! Make sure you follow the directions, I tried to substitue a different type of crackers, not good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States