Portabella Mushroom Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
Great recipe! Make sure to add the broth slowly to get the texture you like. I only used 2 1/2 cans, because we like it a little more firm. Also, I added a can of cream of chicken soup, it gave it a creamier consistency. (And I "kicked up" the garlic by doubling it, and added a hint of thyme, oregano, and sage.) Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
Incredible Flavors! I used fresh Portabellos and dried Shitakes and Porcini mushrooms (soaked them in warm water before cooking). I also used vegetable broth instead of chicken. I cooked the mushroom/vegetable mixture the night before and refrigerated it. Then an hour before dinner I reheated the mushroom mixture and then continued the recipe. I used bread stuffing with the seasonings already mixed in. I only used about 2 cans of broth. Absolutely the best stuffing we have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
Made this recipe for thanksgiving and it was a huge mistake. After spending the money to buy all those mushrooms because I love mushroom only to dump the whole thing in the trash. The recipe ask for too much broth only if I knew I would have reduce it. The end result did not look like stuffing and didn't put it out for us to eat because it was too upsetting. The taste was there but it was just too soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Great recipe love the flavors, remember you do not need to buy crimini mushrooms they are portabella's they are just grown up crimini's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILHERB

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
This was a hit! I wanted to try a new stuffing for Christmas and we love mushrooms. My husband added some cooked chicken and dry cornbread with already seasoned bread stuffing. Turned out great!! Will make this again and again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This was delicious. The only changes I made was to use vegetable broth for my vegetarian guest and I did use all the broth stated in the recipe, but I also used a 16oz bag of stuffing instead of the 12oz called for. It was the first thing gone from the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCMN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This was a huge hit at my Thanksgiving table! I only used two cans of Campbell's chicken broth, and I added a few extra Shiitake and Crimini mushrooms. Absolutely wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This was awesome! I read the reviews and reduced the chicken broth and added 2 tsp of sage. I had 3 helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
Mushroom dressing? How could you go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamieq
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I was able to pass this off to a veggie hater and he came back for thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States