Portabella Basil Sub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I whipped this up for my hubby who is on a vegetarian cleansing diet from his doctor, so we skipped the bread. This recipe could not be any easier and it was filling for my hubby, who is a carnivore, so this diet is killing him. I would definitely make this again- the flavor was great for us with no changes necessary. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I made this for dinner to night and I love it. I made it with a red onion instead of a shallot because the store didn't have any. And I melted some baby swiss cheese on my bun while a toasted it. And it was perfect. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Channon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
very fragrant, and really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Wonderful sandwich! I love portabella mushrooms so I had to try this. I didn't have hot paprika so I used regular and I subbed a few splashes of Tabasco for the Jamacian pepper sauce. I put this on ciabatta bread vs. a hoagie roll and topped it with a little shredded Parmesan - fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Super-tasty, fine restaurant grade dish. I put a little bit a cream cheese in at the end to give it a creamier favor. It is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I made this for dinner and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
What a great taste! I made some substitutions, I used onion instead of shallots and used an oriental General T'sao sauce instead of the sweet pepper sauce, but it was wonderful! I ate it on a plate instead of using bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Delicious - a great sandwich alternate to deli meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Excellent! So aromatic and incredible. For the reviewer that said it was too many ingredients for "just a sandwich". Go throw a piece of bologna on some white bread. That is "just a sandwich. This is a gourmet treat and if you can't appreciate a perfect blending of flavors and aromas; then you won't appreciate this sandwich. If you want your taste buds to sing in appreciation; make this "feast".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I loved how fragrant this dinner was. I made a few changes to the recipe; I didn't buy enough shallots, so I added some onion. Also, I used green Tabasco sauce instead of the Jamaican pepper sauce and used white vinegar instead of balsamic (because that's all I had). My husband and I both loved the subs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States