Port Wine Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I know. I know. I'm a bad reviewer but I just couldn't wait to use this recipe. I initially was going to use another recipe and bought Cabernet Sauvignon for $3.00. So rather than Port Wine, I used that instead. Also, I had only 3 1/2 cups of wine so I changed from 40 to 35 servings and used 1.75 oz of dry pectin. The color was beautiful and the taste was incredible. Next time (probably next year), I will use port because this tasted great and was fun to make with my daughter. Also, with my serving adjustment, I still made a total of 5 jelly jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
excellent taste, made port chocolate cupcakes and put the jelly in the middle as a filling (little bit) made the cupcake awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Turned out great, i ended up using my arbor mist wine that I had in the fridge for forever, tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This was my first attempt at making jelly. I followed the recipe exactly with some inexpensive Fairbanks Port. It seems powdered fruit pectin packages only come in 1.75-oz sizes, though, so I just used one package. It was very easy to make, and it turned out perfectly! I tried some on crackers with a bit of "stinky cheese," and I loved the flavors together. This is a great, unique gift idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUPERPILOT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This was very good. I have made many jams and jelly but this was the first time I used wine! Very different flavor, but yummy! It has a sweetness that is different from the typical fruit jelly. I did not think it was too sweet as others have said. Maybe because I only use a thin layer? Anyways, very tasty! Thanks! Oh and I also halved the recipe and it came out well. I didnt bother canning it, as we were eating it right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Whoa! This is REALLY sweet--as in, next time I'm cutting the sugar down by a half cup at least! But, despite the sugary-ness, so GOOD! Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Mine also did not set up using port. I talked to a friend who is a master preserver - she changed it to reduce the port to 3.25 cups and add 1/2 cup of lemon juice. Pectin requires a certain ratio of acid to sugar. Port doesn't have enough acid so adding the lemon juice should help it to set up better. If your using a white wine you can probably skip the lemon juice since white wine has more acid than port. Also, be prepared with more jars- the yield on this recipe is also incorrect - my port "sauce" following instructions exactly yielded 8 half pints
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I have made many kinds of wine jelly and using port is a wonderful full-flavored version. It is sweet - DO NOT cut back on the sugar as this is the chemistry between sugar and pectin that makes it jell. Try adding a little lemon juice instead. Strangely I have found that the cheaper the wine .... the nicer the jelly. When adding lemon juice substitue 1/2 cup for the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Have made wine jelly for several years using different wines - found the white wines don't have nearly as much flavor - too fruity. Merlot has always turned out good, but the port, by far, has the strongest flavor & liked by all. I only use 3-1/2 cups of wine, and always use 1/4 cup lemon juice. Have used fresh and bottled - never noticed a difference. Have never had a batch fail. Have taken it to gatherings and served on a pretty platter with small crackers around the bottom of a long-stemmed champagne glass filled with the jelly and a demitasse spoon for spreading - lots of comments!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oakdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Wine Jelly

See how to turn your favorite wine into delicous jelly.

How to Cook with Wine

Build rich flavors in sauces and reductions by simply adding a splash of wine!

Wine Basics

Tune in for a quick review of white and red wines from around the world.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States