Port Huron-Style Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
awesome...thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Having never been to Port Huron, I didn't know quite what to expect. I was looking for a coney sauce to replicate the one from my partner-in-crime's childhood. He described it as "more chili-like than sweet with a little kick, but not too much". I will say that I went a little heavier on the onion powder, garlic powder, cumin, paprika and chili powder. I also used dry mustard instead of prepared mustard because as long as I was rooting around in the spice cabinet for all these spices, why not? I also happened upon some celery salt while in the cupboard and used about a 1/2 tsp of that. I did not add the crackers at the end as having cooked this sauce for a couple of hours, it was already perfectly thick. I kind of thought it weird that there was no tomato product of any kind in this sauce, but in the end, it did not need it. It was perfectly spiced and "almost exactly" what I was looking for. This one is going in the five star file and I will be using it from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Port Huron's own "Downtown Coney Island" (DCI) is the standard by which I judge coney island sauce. I appreciate the regional differences of the Coney Dog but if you love the unique flavor of DCI's sauce you will be very satisfied with this recipe. My wife, Julie, is a multi-generational Huronite who turned me on to the DCI scene in the first place and she loved my redition of this recipe. I didn't change a thing except I did salt it up to my taste. I'd give it a 4.5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Sorry, I found the allspice and cinnamon to be overwhelming and distracted from the flavor. I have never had a coney that tasted like that in PH or elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckymc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
We really liked this...Coney sauces are all different anyways so this one isn't my ultimate favorite but it's pretty addicting. Tastes kinda like Skyline chili. I didn't have beef base so I added beef stock instead of the water. I also was out of onion powder so I added minced onion-I actually spilled it in there & was going to fish it out but decided it would just rehydrate & be fine & it was. I also added a bit of celery seed. Yum. Would give this 4.5 stars if I could
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Really good. I made it like the recipe said and not quite what Port Huron's Coneys are like but pretty close. I'll probably make this again but play with the sauce a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Instead of adding water and thickening with crackers, make more gravy using the same liquid and dry ingredients in the recipe (sans meat, of course), bring to a boil, thicken with a flour and water mix and add back to the cooked meat. This will look and taste like the product at places like National Coney Island, or Ted's in Port Huron. PS, leave out the Cayenne. These restaurants do not use this. If you like hot, go ahead, but this isn't used in the restaurants, at least not at this strength.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davidblaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Deckerville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Not sure what's goin on in Port Huron, but this is definitely not what I was expecting for a Coney sauce. It was OK for what it was but I won't be making it again. Gonna keep searching for the real Detroit Coney sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Good but not "real" Michigan Coney Island chili. There is no tomato base. Places like Leo's Coney Island and many many many coney islands have the real deal. Good for what it is but not Michigan coney chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Pretty good. I am here in TX and not quite accustomed to chili sauce like this one. I added a little salt and didnt do the beef base. Turned out really delicious. And GO WINGS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States