Port And Mushroom Sauce Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2005
Very rarely do I rate a recipe a 1-star but my roommate and I took two bites and decided to throw it out. I do not know why it tasted so bad. I believe may be far too much taragon in this dish. Based upon previous reviews the only change I made was to triple the sauce and mushrooms. A similar recipe that I've rated 5-stars is "Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar and Garlic". I highly recommend this recipe instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Add the port wine LAST, not along with the white wine, or you'll have trouble thickening the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Loogootee, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
Fantastic dish that was quick and easy to throw together. I pounded the chicken breasts thin as suggested by several reviewers, doubled the sauce using a medley of different type of mushrooms. Added 1/2 cup of heavy cream to the sauce for a silker, richer sauce. Served it all over linguini pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
THIS WAS A WONDERFUL RECIPE GOING TO BE MAKING IT AGAIN AND AGAIN ALTHOUGH I DID DOUBLE THE AMOUNT OF SAUCE MIXTURE SO THAT I COULD TOP WHITE RICE WITH IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
This was scrumptious. The sauce was so good, i had trouble not picking up the plate and licking it like a little kid!I, like many others, doubled the sauce and am thinking of tripling it next time.I thickened it with cornstarch mixed with a tiny bit of water so it wouldnt clump. The chicken was nice and tender, and the mushrooms were great. I used more shallots, about 4 tbs. I didnt use tarragon, i used this herb mix my ma has, Herbs de Provence. DELICIOUS!!! Thank you so much for this delicious and easy meal. (served with mashed potatoes and broccoli)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Yung2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
Really good recipe. I'll make this again. I used several tips in the reviews. I pounded out the chicken, TRIPLED the mushrooms and sauce instead of just doubling, and served it all over the chicken and a side of mashed potatoes. You couldn't get better than this in a restaurant! Thanks, folks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
I did like this recipe, but I did change it some to get the tastes that I preferred. First of all, I think that there needed to be a little more shallots and muschrooms, but that is not a big deal and just a matter of preference. I cut the chicken breasts into quarters before cooking to make the dish a little easier to handle for various appetites. Additionally, I added a little more chicken stock, white wine, and port because I though the recipe did not call for enough of it for a good proportion. The fresh tarragon is a judgement call. I am not a huge tarragon fan, but tried it and of course I got what I expect... a nice tarragon aftertaste, but sometimes I think fresh tarragon takes away from the taste. If other people are not big tarragon fans, i would suggested maybe using a bay leaf or two. The last thing is that I added a little milk to a portion of the sauce to see who it changed my feeling and you can't go wrong with either one. If you prefer creamier sauces, add some milk, otherwise the sauce itself it fine. Thanks for the recipe Carol. I will make it again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I made this for a business dinner. My guest gobbled it up!! I bought fresh breasts from the butcher (5) and used a whole can of chicken broth. I also used a whole container of sliced mushrooms. I didn't use the parsley. I would use more shallots, maybe 4T instead. Very Good!!! I've made it twice and the wheat flour gives a great taste. I will use wheat for all browning to see what happens. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
Fabulous meal. Used regular flour instead of whole wheat because I didn't have any. Also, added more chicken broth and port because it really didn't make enough sauce. Husband would have liked to have had more mushrooms so next time I will add more as well as more shallots. Used French bread to sop up the yummy sauce. Also, there was a reference to adding additional thyme but on my printout there was no previous reference to thyme. I added thyme and more tarragon to compensate. Chicken was extremely moist and that pleased my husband. He is not a chicken fan, especially not dry chicken but he went nuts over this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2004
I had two split chicken breasts on hand (for two), no shallots, used onions, no fresh mushrooms, used a 4-oz can, but kept all ingredients proportioned the same. I had to come up with something quick. This was so good with all the substitutions, I can only imagine how wonderful it will be when I make it again with the ingredients as written. I added about 2 tablespoons of half and half mixed with a teaspoon of corn starch at the end. Just a preference for a creamier gravy. This was very good, easy and ready in 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States