Port And Mushroom Sauce Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
THIS WAS A WONDERFUL RECIPE GOING TO BE MAKING IT AGAIN AND AGAIN ALTHOUGH I DID DOUBLE THE AMOUNT OF SAUCE MIXTURE SO THAT I COULD TOP WHITE RICE WITH IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
The taste was very good. For some reason though, I ended up with almost no sauce. I think it should be doubled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
I did like this recipe, but I did change it some to get the tastes that I preferred. First of all, I think that there needed to be a little more shallots and muschrooms, but that is not a big deal and just a matter of preference. I cut the chicken breasts into quarters before cooking to make the dish a little easier to handle for various appetites. Additionally, I added a little more chicken stock, white wine, and port because I though the recipe did not call for enough of it for a good proportion. The fresh tarragon is a judgement call. I am not a huge tarragon fan, but tried it and of course I got what I expect... a nice tarragon aftertaste, but sometimes I think fresh tarragon takes away from the taste. If other people are not big tarragon fans, i would suggested maybe using a bay leaf or two. The last thing is that I added a little milk to a portion of the sauce to see who it changed my feeling and you can't go wrong with either one. If you prefer creamier sauces, add some milk, otherwise the sauce itself it fine. Thanks for the recipe Carol. I will make it again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
Very good and yummy meal. Probably not one of the regular weekly dished you would prepare, good for company. This dish had such a wonderful rich flavor that was excellent with hot bread and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
Fabulous meal. Used regular flour instead of whole wheat because I didn't have any. Also, added more chicken broth and port because it really didn't make enough sauce. Husband would have liked to have had more mushrooms so next time I will add more as well as more shallots. Used French bread to sop up the yummy sauce. Also, there was a reference to adding additional thyme but on my printout there was no previous reference to thyme. I added thyme and more tarragon to compensate. Chicken was extremely moist and that pleased my husband. He is not a chicken fan, especially not dry chicken but he went nuts over this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
I love this dish. It's good to do something different with CHICKEN. I did double the mushrooms and sauce. We are saucey people! I used thicker chicken breasts, so it took probably 25 minutes to cook chicken on medium, not low.**Note to self, don't drink as much wine while cooking!! oh, never mind!! oh happy day :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
I have 3 people in my family and they don't like everything - they don't think some things go together good - but they really liked this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
Good, but a little bland. Next time I will try to avoid dealing with ringing telephones, barking dogs and kids' homework while fixing dinner - perhaps giving it a little more attention would be good. I took advice from other reviewers and made double the sauce, which paid off. I am not a mushroom lover, so omitted them and thought that was fine. All in all, a fairly easy recipe and will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
Amazing!! I made several changes, I doubled the sauce, I added 1/2 cup fat free half and half to make it creamy at the end, thickened it with corn starch, added red wine rather than port, and added some chives, and used onion rather than shallots, almost a new recipe, but still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States