Port And Mushroom Sauce Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
Great flavor and easy to prepare. I took the advice of other reviewers and doubled the sauce. I also used dry tarragon. Although it wasn't noted in the recipe, the one thing I always do with chicken breast is pound it flat. It keeps it from being stringy, cooks more evenly and cooks quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
Absolutey great! I used a blush merlot and dried tarragon and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
I loved this combination of flavors --tarragon and mushroom, I guess. I added LOTS of tarragon, and used a variety of mushrooms. And I used more wine and broth than called for -- and added a bit of sherry instead of port. Buono!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
I had two split chicken breasts on hand (for two), no shallots, used onions, no fresh mushrooms, used a 4-oz can, but kept all ingredients proportioned the same. I had to come up with something quick. This was so good with all the substitutions, I can only imagine how wonderful it will be when I make it again with the ingredients as written. I added about 2 tablespoons of half and half mixed with a teaspoon of corn starch at the end. Just a preference for a creamier gravy. This was very good, easy and ready in 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
THis recipe is a huge hit w/ my family and friends! I use Rosemary b/c I don't like the taste of Taragon. It's hearty and filling especially w/ mashed potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
Amazing!! I made several changes, I doubled the sauce, I added 1/2 cup fat free half and half to make it creamy at the end, thickened it with corn starch, added red wine rather than port, and added some chives, and used onion rather than shallots, almost a new recipe, but still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
Good, but a little bland. Next time I will try to avoid dealing with ringing telephones, barking dogs and kids' homework while fixing dinner - perhaps giving it a little more attention would be good. I took advice from other reviewers and made double the sauce, which paid off. I am not a mushroom lover, so omitted them and thought that was fine. All in all, a fairly easy recipe and will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
I have 3 people in my family and they don't like everything - they don't think some things go together good - but they really liked this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
I love this dish. It's good to do something different with CHICKEN. I did double the mushrooms and sauce. We are saucey people! I used thicker chicken breasts, so it took probably 25 minutes to cook chicken on medium, not low.**Note to self, don't drink as much wine while cooking!! oh, never mind!! oh happy day :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Curry Stand Chicken Tikka Masala Sauce

Learn how to make this fragrant, delicious, Indian-inspired chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States