Port And Mushroom Sauce Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Very tasty. I had to use dry sherry instead of the port wine because I picked up the wrong wine. I will definitly make this again. I too will double the sauce. I liked using whole wheat flour. It seemed to stick to the chicken better than white and browned nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
Very rarely do I rate a recipe a 1-star but my roommate and I took two bites and decided to throw it out. I do not know why it tasted so bad. I believe may be far too much taragon in this dish. Based upon previous reviews the only change I made was to triple the sauce and mushrooms. A similar recipe that I've rated 5-stars is "Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar and Garlic". I highly recommend this recipe instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
Great recipe! I also doubled the sauce like most people & used Cream sherry instead of port. I bought the thin sliced fosters farm's breast's, they seem to cook a bit more evenly. Next time I cook this I think that I will melt a thin slice of mozzarella on each breast before pouring the mushroom sauce on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
This is delicious. My roommate loves it when I make this, because the aroma fills the entire house. I did double the sauce, but other than that followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
A very good recipe. I used dried tarragon and added a dash of heavy cream to the sauce. Forgot entirely about the parsley. I recommend this. Thanks, Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sanibel Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I made this for a business dinner. My guest gobbled it up!! I bought fresh breasts from the butcher (5) and used a whole can of chicken broth. I also used a whole container of sliced mushrooms. I didn't use the parsley. I would use more shallots, maybe 4T instead. Very Good!!! I've made it twice and the wheat flour gives a great taste. I will use wheat for all browning to see what happens. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
This was a very nice chicken recipe. I made it for company and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I tried it twice, once as listed and once doubling sauce and using a bit more flour to thicken it. Great flavor, even for a guy that doesn't really like mushrooms ... I ate every one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kowitz1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
Really good recipe. I'll make this again. I used several tips in the reviews. I pounded out the chicken, TRIPLED the mushrooms and sauce instead of just doubling, and served it all over the chicken and a side of mashed potatoes. You couldn't get better than this in a restaurant! Thanks, folks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
WOW!!! The flavor was incredible and the directions were easy to follow. I will definitely make this again. My husband loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States