Port And Mushroom Sauce Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Very good. Had to thicken sauce a tad with cornstarch but otherwise followed recipe exactly. Goes beautifully with mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupin Pooter
Home Town: Sherborne, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Really good recipe, not too complicated, but elegant enough for company. I used three large chicken breasts, and it took a while for them to cook. Pounding them flat as another reviewer suggested might help. I took the advice of other reviewers and doubled the sauce. I also used a whole container of sliced mushrooms, not just eight. It was delicious, and resulted in the perfect amount of sauce. The sauce had just enough port to make it tasty and interesting, but it did not overwhelm the other ingredients. I used dried tarragon. I also totally forgot about the parsley, but we didn't miss it. Served with oven roasted rosemary pototoes and fresh steamed green beans. Will make this again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
delicious and easy. followed recipe exactly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Add the port wine LAST, not along with the white wine, or you'll have trouble thickening the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Loogootee, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Soooo good! Quick and easy! I added a little garlic while sauteeing the mushrooms for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Very good recipe...I used less cooking time, particularly in the last stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebcamuse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Do you use white port or red port? I happen to be in the unusual situation of having both at hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
Fantastic dish that was quick and easy to throw together. I pounded the chicken breasts thin as suggested by several reviewers, doubled the sauce using a medley of different type of mushrooms. Added 1/2 cup of heavy cream to the sauce for a silker, richer sauce. Served it all over linguini pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
Not earth shattering, but something I will make again. The flavour was subtle. I used split breasts instead of boneless because I think having the bone & skin keeps the meat moist. I just picked the meat off while the sauce was boiling down. And I used a half pound container of pre-sliced mushrooms instead of just 8 of them. I also got lazy & threw the onions followed by the mushrooms shortly thereafter into the same pot with the chicken and then just let it simmer for about 20 minutes. I had to cook the chicken longer since it was bone-in. Oh! And I doubled the sauce as per others suggestions and added some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
This was scrumptious. The sauce was so good, i had trouble not picking up the plate and licking it like a little kid!I, like many others, doubled the sauce and am thinking of tripling it next time.I thickened it with cornstarch mixed with a tiny bit of water so it wouldnt clump. The chicken was nice and tender, and the mushrooms were great. I used more shallots, about 4 tbs. I didnt use tarragon, i used this herb mix my ma has, Herbs de Provence. DELICIOUS!!! Thank you so much for this delicious and easy meal. (served with mashed potatoes and broccoli)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Yung2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States