Port And Mushroom Sauce Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
It's hard to find a non dairy chicken dish that has a big flavor. I used dried tarragon instead of fresh. The only thing I would change is the amount of oil I used. I strayed from the original 1 TBS and it separated the sauce....make sure to follow the instructions! I also cooked everything together for about 15 minutes which made the chicken really tender. I will make this over and over again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
yummy! My husband doesnt like chicken, but he loved this recipie. I didn't have fresh mushrooms on hand, but it still turned out delectable with a bit of brown rice and a nice salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillith32

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kiev, Kiev (Special City), Ukraine
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
definately need to use a thickener, but good overall taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Yummo! The only changes that I made were the following: Used fresh rosemary and thyme,veggie stock, 1lb of sliced baby bella mushrooms, and did thicken the sauce with corn starch. Evidently I did double the sauce. Loved the wheat flour to coat the chicken which I did slice in half instead of pounding. Don't overcook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NainInCandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Very good! I doubled the sauce as suggested and also added cream. The perfect dish to serve to guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This was awesome! I followed the suggestions of others & flattened the chix breasts, & doubled the sauce. I used a whole package of Baby bella mushrooms & thickened the sauce with a little cornstarch. For such an easy recipe, it really has a "gourmet" taste...like you spent alot of time on it! GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARMYWIFE99

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
LOVED this!!! Followed the suggestions of some others...Pounded my chix breasts to about 1/2 inch thick. Probably tripled the mushrooms (Used a 1 pound pkg of fresh shrooms), doubled the sauce ingredients and added 1/2 cup of heavy cream to the sauce at the end. I let that thicken up a bit and it still wasn't quite the consistency I wanted, so I used approx a tablespoon or 2 of cornstarch mixed with just enough water to make it not clump, and stirred that into the sauce til it reached the consistency that I wanted. VERY tasty! Will pass it on to friends and will DEFINITELY make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniferAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crete, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pingree Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
This dish is great. Just watch the port.I put a less in than what is called for. Also I add cream of mushroom to the sauce. The cream of mushroom with garlic is excellent, but just plain cream of mushroom works. I do a mixture of mushrooms also to add flavoring. I also add other spices to the flour that I coat the chicken in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This is one to memorize. I really liked it and it will be fun to experiment with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States