Port And Mushroom Sauce Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Quite delicious and easy to make. The only thing I would add is that if you want the sauce to thicken up and become creamy, you need to add some flour to the sauce before you add the mushrooms. Also, I don't like the flavor of tarragon, so I substituted a sprig of thyme which turned out fine. Served this with balsamic roasted new potatos and brussel sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Fantastic recipe. Just the right amount of tarragon. Deaf Dog Lover dosen't know what she is talking about. This is also quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Very good, I did not use white wine, I uped he amount of chicken broth to 1 cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla_P

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This was good as is. I followed the recipe to a "T", except that I pounded out the breast halves, which reduced cooking time a tad. My parents loved it, my sister and I thought it was good but not amazing. This was very easy to make and tasted good so it will probably be made again in my house. I used about 10 oz of fresh mushrooms and that seemed to be a good amount. There was a little sauce/mushrooms leftover, and I know my dad already has his eye on them for later in the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This really wasn't very good. The sauce ingredients just didn't mesh well together. Maybe I did something wrong, but I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I feel like this was just okay. I added a little bit of sauce and included thyme instead of tarragon. I really like the taste of the sauteed mushrooms - I think that was a good tip, but I was expecting a sauce with a bit more flavor. The sauce just was not very flavorful but the chicken was quite tender. So I don't think I'll make it again but it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leah
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I doubled the sauce, which was a good thing, doubled the mushrooms, XXXXXX onions (maybe 2/3's a cup, minced?), served over wild rice. Not a huge fan of the tarragon, would have given it a 4 but made many changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
The chicken was juicy and the SAUCE - oh the sauce was fantastic! We doubled up on mushrooms to have plenty to drape over the chicken. And used dried tarragon which turned out just fine. It was so darn good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fairy1978

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This was just ok for me. It wasn't bad, but probably not something I will make again. I did have to use cream sherry as another user had done, having no port on hand. If I do make it again it would be to try it as the recipe calls for. I think I was hoping for more of a marsala tasting recipe, so for what it was - it wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda 'Machmiller' Kiner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
This was a very good recipe. Will definitely make again and again. Only comment was that the "sauce" wasn't enough of a sauce but what it was...was good. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Mreen Holmes
Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States