Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
I am a porridge eater normally but was looking for a recipe similar to what the Hari Krishna tent serves up at the Glastonbury festival in the UK, which is spicy, sweet and breakfasty too. I found I needed to add more cinnamon to this and poured honey over it too or it would have been bland. I also used sultanas instead of bananas as the one I had previously had sultanas. Not a very exciting recipe but not bad either
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ButtercupBento

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
Oops, I must have forgotten to include 1/2 cup saltanas in the ingredients when I submitted the recipe. You simply add the saltanas with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
I tried this recipe for myself and I really enjoyed it. The only change I made was that I used honey instead of sugar and was a little more liberal with the cinnamon. I love this recipe and will definitely make it again . Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
I didn't like this recipe much. But I didn't make it for nothing because my mum ate it. I think I didn't enjoy it much because I dont like the hot banana taste. I added some brown sugar and that made a bit of difference but it still needed something. I dont think it tasted like porridge just bananas. Over all this recipe would be good for people that like the hot banana taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mankato, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
I didn't try it with bananas, as I find cooked bananas too mushy. Instead, I added dried raisins, dried and chopped appricots, and chopped almonds. I upped the cinnamon, added cloves, nutmeg, and allspice, and Voila! Christmas cookies for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I thought this was pretty bland until I added a ton of brown sugar. Maybe next time I'll add some more spices to it. My toddler ate a whole bowl of it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This porridge is great, I love the Cinnomon in it, I did add about 2 tabs. Heavy whipping cream per serving to it to add extra flavor to it, and then it was great. My kids also liked it with a little more Cinnomon and some rasins in it, but the recipe was easy and quick to make, a must in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Great recipe -- easy, quick, delicious and versatile. It's great as is, but sometimes I leave out the bananas and add apples, dates, peaches, apricots, walnuts and/or berries --whatever I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This was really weird. I cut the amount of salt in half and it was still way too salty. The whole thing tasted like salty bananas, very strange. Next time I will leave the salt out all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Simple, fast and delicious recipe! Instead of sugar, I used honey. The taste of cooked banana combined with cinnamon makes the trick of this recipe. I really enjoyed this porridge and will make it again as long as I have bananas in my fruit basket!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Muesli

A delicious homemade breakfast cereal with dried fruit, nuts, oats, and bran.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States