Porkolt (Hungarian Stew) Made With Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This was delicious, but a tad labor intensive. My dad, who is from Hungary, always used chunks of pork and browned it that way, instead of using chops and then cutting them into pie es
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Omg! This was sooo good followed recipe to exact. Husband and kids wanted more! The next wk, they asked for this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This was delicious - those who found it bland were likely not using Hungarian paprika. I used even a bit more because our family likes things extra hot. I'm not sure why the directions feel so complicated, but it could be because the original recipe is a fairly large scale. I scaled down to serve 4 of us, and the whole thing was a lot simpler. Cook the bacon first, then in the bacon fat cook the onion/pepper (and garlic if using fresh), then in the same pan the pork chops. Depending on the size of your pan, the veggies and chops could maybe be cooked together, especially if you choose to cube before cooking. Then it all goes in the pot with the tomatoes/broth. Seems a lot simpler than all the back and forth described by the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I made this recipe EXACTLY per the instructions. This felt like it should be great based on the ingredients, but...this was bland and tasteless. Not even my kids, who only eat non-spicy food, though it was a keeper. Since there were several meals worth of leftovers and I hate to waste food, I added cayenne pepper to it and it was thereafter passable. The cayenne pepper raised it to a 3 star recipe. I would NOT make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steven M,

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Woodmere, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Of all the hungarian food I have tried, I've loved, but this will be on my bottom list. It was alright for me. There was that something missing that I can't figure out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
this dish is a alternative to beef stew but served over noodles very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
When Hubs remarks “This is another of those dishes I really like that I’ll never see again,” you know you have something here! (Except for family favorites I rarely prepare the same dish twice) This is just excellent; a flavorful and satisfying comfort food that doesn’t bog down in an overload of spices or any processed ingredients. I started off with boneless country-style ribs that I cut into small pieces before browning them in bacon grease. I cooked the onion separately, a good long while before continuing on with the recipe, and used fresh garlic rather than garlic powder. Given that I scaled this down to three servings (one pound of meat) for Hubs and me, it wasn’t practical for me to open up a can of beef broth for the small amount called for. Red wine filled in nicely (I happened to have a glass handy :) I used twice the amount of tomatoes called for (a full can for the 3-serving recipe I made) and in my view it was just right. Rather than stirring the sour cream into the mix I gave each plate a dollop of it upon serving and when I make this again I’ll do it the same way. I served this over buttered wide noodles and garnished it with chives. I’m not sure just what made this so darn good, the bacon maybe or the sweet Hungarian paprika, but this humble dish was a real sleeper hit tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I can't believe how easy and good this recipe is! I've never had Porkolt before, so I can't say make comment on whether this is authentic. Regardless, it is delish! This is now on my regular rotation. I look forward to making it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mesa Mom
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Porkolt = "roasted". Since I love my slow cooker AND I'm trying to eat healthier, I decided to skip the stove method and add my own personal touches. I omitted the bacon and bell pepper altogether (bacon for fat/cal content; bell pepper because my family detests), used fire roasted diced tomatoes and 2 large cloves of fresh minced garlic, dumped all ingredients into my 6qt. Crock Pot, used diced pork stew meat, stirred, and let it ride for 4 hrs on LOW. I uncovered for 30 min. to let the sauce thicken. I tried it without sour cream and then with. It's absolutely delicious both ways but if you're trying to trim as much fat/cals as you can while still having a succulent meal, I'd say skip the sour cream - you really won't miss it. Prepare to have your home filled with a mouthwatering aroma while it stews in its own juices. We served it on quinoa as it's what I had in my pantry (not to mention the boost in nutrition). This is can stand alone, however; you do not need a starch/filler. The only thing it seemed to lack for me was spice which is why I didn't give it a full 5 stars. I used authentic Hungarian Paprika and it gave a savory punch, but I like a little kick so next time I'll add a dash or two of chili powder. So easy! Can be frozen. Serve with crusty bread and a big bowl of fruits/veggies. Tastes even BETTER the next day. Highly recommend - this is comfort food at its best! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mesa Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Delicious! A different and very tasty flavor. I like that it's a tomato sauce, but not too tomato-y, and adding sour cream to make the cream sauce is a great idea. I'm cooking for 2 people, so I halved the recipe, and then only used 1.5lbs of pork and 0.5 onion. I used the whole pepper and added extra bacon and broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States