Pork with Peach and Black Bean Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This has to be one of the best dishes I have ever made! However, I did not follow the recipe exactly... per reading some of the other reviews & because I can't follow directions... I did the following: Seared meat without breading, used pork chops & cut off all the fat. Used fresh peaches, an entire can of spicey black beans & its sauce. Added a small call of fiesta corn, and 3 large peppers from my garden to add color, heat, & sweetness. Used white wine vinegar instad of salt for a little tang and a can of strained diced tomatoes with green chillies instead of salsa. Also a little minced garlic. Didn't use any beer as I drank it all. Awesome meal! Boyfriend also suggested it would be good over Nachos or a dip. Will also try with chicken and use left overs as a burrito and add sour cream. Did end up using pork fat in some fried potatoes and onions... so much for the healthy factor... but oh so tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I made this with pineapple instead of peaches (didn't have any on hand) and it was great! Also used chicken broth instead of beer, used the whole can of black beans and left out the cornmeal. I don't like cilantro so I left that out too. Served over whole grain rice. The whole family loved this recipe - will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdominy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Point, Georgia, USA
Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Finally something new to our family that was liked. It's impossible to wreck pork tenderloin so that's a given, but the rest of the recipe was great. I cooked it longer only because my other food wasn't ready and forgot to plan for rice. It worked out because more of the liquid was cooked off in the extra time. This is my husband's kind of food-black bean salsa,etc (that's why I chose the recipe) but everyone else liked it too. keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I was really surprised at how good this was, considering how "quick & easy" it was to make. I was hesitant about the addition of beer- I couldn't see how that would fit, but it all blended together into a delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Viola Lynte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
My husband made this for me last night - he used fresh peaches and fresh salsa (instead of canned). We ate everything in the skillet - it was really delicious! Saving this one for another time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Why would anyone rate a dish that they didn't make and give it 3 stars because it included an ingredient they don't like. I'll go with 5 stars because it sounds delicious and it will balance out the other reviewer's low rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This sounds very except I am one of the minority who does not care for Black Beans. I guess I will try Pintos or Chile beans. Someone also suggested using chicken as a variation. We'll see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Great and surprising taste! The family loved it, used real peaches instead of can of peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
My husband was more enthusiastic about this than anything I've made in a long time. I was determined to make the cornmeal work, and I believe the solution is to make sure your oil is very hot when you first add the coated meat, and not to turn it until there is a good, golden color to the down side. Continue to turn and brown the meat until all sides are browned. This gives a crisp coating that won't fall off and get mushy, as some reviewers have complained about. I used medium salsa, but think it would be better with hot. I also added the whole can of beans and don't think it was too much. (And besides, what was I going to do with half a can of black beans?) Initially I added a little more beer, bean liquid, and peach syrup, but as it continued to cook and thicken, I just periodically added a little water. The pork was wonderfully tender, and the combination of flavors was unusual and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States