Pork with Peach and Black Bean Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Hot oil is key and browning on all sides of diced pork to get the cornmeal to stick and not go into the sauce. I doubled the salsa, beer, and "reserve liquid" b/c we like things saucy and made rice to put it on top of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I feel that the cornmeal greatly declined the quality of this recipe. I read other reviews and took the time to make sure the cornmeal created a nice crispy crust, but once the other ingredients were added, the cornmeal crust began to breakdown. The sauce became grainy. I didn't like the texture one bit, but the taste was pretty good. Will try this one again without the cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
After reading many reviews, here's my take: This recipe produces a sweet and savory taste unexpected for chunks of pork. The cut of meat doesn't really matter as long as you cook the pork thoroughly (no pink!): chops, cubed roast or tenderloin. I used the cornmeal and followed other cooks' recommendations to get the oil HOT, turn meat once seared/browned on each surface/side (you need to be "hands on" for about 15 min.). Once nicely browned, add peaches, black beans, salsa....salt and ground pepper to taste. Then put a lid on your skillet and let it simmer (doesn't dry out). Served this with the Maple Glazed Sweet Potato w/bacon and carmelized onions from this site....a lovely pairing of tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
It was okay, but I don't understand what all the fuss is about. It wasn't as amazing as I'd expected from all these reviews. I suspect I might have used a too-spicy salsa, since it overpowered the other flavours a bit, but the other flavours themselves still weren't that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
this is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Super easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Cut peaches in half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was a good dish. Something a little different than what I am used to. But I did enjoy it. The flavor from the peach was what I enjoyed most. Not a dish I would ask for on a regular basis, but would enjoy once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Just didn't do anything for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States